Scope and Contents

The collection contains posters of musical performances, plays, athletic events, academic programs, student activities, lectures, discussions, seminars, readings, and other events at Old Dominion University. The posters are arranged by the office/department that created the poster. The collection is added to on an ongoing basis. Please consult a staff member for assistance with the collection.

Scope and Contents

This collection includes scrapbooks of newspaper clippings related to the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University from 1930 to 1979. Some of the topics featured in the scrapbooks include athletic games, Commencement, student life, and new programs being offered.

Abstract

The Old Dominion University Student Directories collection consists of student directories for the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University, non-continuous, from 1955 to 2004.

Abstract This collection contains student handbooks for the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University, non-continuous, from 1948 to 2003.  Also included in the collection are handbooks related to intramural sports, community college transfer orientation, international students, health/physical education majors, and post graduate career handbooks.  Additionally, the collection includes two student handbooks titled Disorientation, a source of...

Abstract

The collection documents Thomas Jackson Reed's academic life and his work as a consultant in urban planning, land use, political re-districting and retail marketing.

Abstract

Collection pertaining to the Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC) at Old Dominion University.

Abstract

This collection documents the professional life of Jeffrey Richards and his development of the English Department at Old Dominion University.

Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, reports, publications, and other material pertaining to the School of General Studies at Old Dominion University.

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of files pertaining to the School of Graduate Studies at Old Dominion University. The collection includes brochures, reports, surveys, and Graduate Studies Committee meeting minutes.

Abstract

Calder Smith Sherwood, III was a chemistry professor at Old Dominion University who served as faculty member in the College of Sciences from 1939-1977, teaching chemistry, astronomy, and geophysical sciences at the university.

Scope and Contents

The bulk of the materials in the William Stoney Papers represent his work as an active composer. The materials include working sketches and sketchbooks and original compositions in various points of the publishing process. Other materials included in the collection relate to Stoney’s teaching and performance activities. Additional scope and content notes providing further detail can be found at the series level.

Scope and Contents

This collection contains publications associated with student organizations at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. The documents within this collection reflect the evolving interests and concerns of an expanding and diverse student body throughout the university’s history. Included are student organization publications such as literary digests, opinion journals, and student organization newsletters.

Abstract

Correspondence, financial records, meeting minutes, scrapbooks, and other items related to Old Dominion University Student Wives Club.

Scope and Contents

The collection contains material related to the Music Club at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion University collected by music professor Dr. Charles E. Vogan. Included in the collection are music programs, invitations, sponsors, meeting minutes, budgets, correspondence and new clippings concerning the arts.

Abstract

Old Dominion University Women’s Caucus (also known as the Faculty Women’s Caucus) is an active Old Dominion University organization for female faculty and administrators. This collection contains correspondence, newspaper articles, printed materials such as flyers and newsletters, minutes and agendas.

Abstract

The collection documents the Women’s Center, which provides information and support to women students through courses, programs, conferences and support groups. The collection contains newsletters, course and event fliers, memos, a listing of courses offered each semester, photographs, newspaper clippings.