Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Filtered By

  • Repository: Community Collections X
  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • People/Organizations: Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 1

Paul T. Schweitzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 16
Abstract

Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.

Dates: circa 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/01/1977

Forrest P. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 5
Abstract

Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.

Dates: circa 1950-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/1976

Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 96
Abstract

Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.

Dates: 1974-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2007