Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Filtered By

  • Repository: ODU Community Collections X
  • Topic: Artists--United States X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Landscape architects--United States 1
Landscape architecture 1
War artists--United States 1
Women artists--United States 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
∨ more
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Carson, Edward G. (1920–2004) 1
Taylor, Bertha Fanning (1883-1980) 1
Withers, George (1911-1959) 1
 

Edward G. Carson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 87
Abstract

Norfolk landscape architect and artist. Designed landscapes for buildings ranging from Webb Center to the bowling alley at a US Air Force base in Italy. The collection includes approximately three hundred oversized landscape plans, as well as a small number of photographs and written descriptions of landscape designs.

Dates: 1924-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1970-2000; Other: Date acquired: 10/12/2007
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Bertha Fanning Taylor Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 44
Abstract

Came to Norfolk in 1945 as Curator of the Sloane Collection at the Heritage Foundation Museum. Taught art courses at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary until 1951. Includes literary productions, printed materials, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and charts. In addition to the artistic significance of the papers, the collection documents the history of Norfolk, especially in the arts.

Dates: circa 1905-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/04/1981
Found in: ODU Community Collections

George Withers Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 113
Scope and Contents This collection contains artwork by George Withers primarily related to World War II. It includes posters, copies of illustrations for military publications, letters, and an Army personnel appointment notice. An illustration of the battle on Guadalcanal for “Army Talks” magazine is included, along with an illustration from Combat Orientation. Letters of thanks from General Dwight D. Eisenhower and Lucius Clay as well as an article about an exhibit of Withers’ work at the Walt Whitman...
Dates: 1943-1946; Other: Date acquired: 10/11/2012
Found in: ODU Community Collections