Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
- Virginia--Politics and government 3
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 2
- African Americans--Civil rights 1
- Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Journalists--United States 1
- Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Ledger-star 1
- Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 1
- Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Publishers and publishing 1
- Race relations--History--20th century 1
- Racism--Prevention 1
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 1
- School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 1
- Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1 ∧ less
- Yiddish 1
- Virginia. General Assembly 3
- Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 2
- Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
- Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
- Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 1
- Reilly, Thomas Joseph (1915-1976) 1
- Roberts, James W. (1891-1977) 1
- Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 1
- Wood, Joseph Downing (1867-1959) 1 ∧ less
Benjamin A. Banks Papers
Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.
Thomas Joseph Reilly Papers
Political correspondent for the Norfolk Ledger-Star and Norfolk Ledger-Dispatch for 26 years. Primarily newspaper columns from the Ledger-Star and background material used to research articles.
Colonel James W. Roberts Papers
President and chairman of Henry B. Gilprin, a wholesale drug firm. Served in the General Assembly from 1948-1968, holding a powerful position on the Appropriations Committee. Served on the Norfolk Planning Commission. The bulk of the collection contains legislative correspondence from 1963-1964.
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records
Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.
Joseph D. Wood Papers
President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.