Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 41 - 60 of 125

Filtered By

  • Repository: Community Collections X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 28
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 25
Virginia--Politics and government 24
School integration--Massive resistance movement 16
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 11
∨ more
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 10
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
World War, 1939-1945 6
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 6
letters (correspondence) 6
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
United States--Politics and government--20th century 5
United States. Navy--Officers 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
minutes (administrative records) 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Artists--United States 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Orchestral music--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
photographs 3
programs (documents) 3
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Authors--United States 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Faculty 2
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 2
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Racism--Prevention 2
School integration--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Scotland--Genealogy 2
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
United States--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Women in community organization--Virginia 2
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 2
World War, 1914-1918--Veterans 2
administrative reports 2
scrapbooks 2
A cappella choirs 1
Acting 1
Admirals--United States 1
African American Unitarian Universalists 1
African American schools 1
African Americans--Florida--Rosewood--History--20th century 1
African Americans--History 1
Airlie Foundation 1
Aladdin Company. Aladdin homes "built in a day" 1
Amazon River--Discovery and exploration 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch--History 1
American Confederate voluntary exiles--Peru 1
American newspapers 1
Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Princess Anne County--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Virginia Beach--History 1
Artists' contracts 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Autograph albums 1
Automobile dealers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Banks and banking--Pennsylvania 1
Battle of, Galveston, Tex., 1863 1
Boush-Tazewell-Waller House 1
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Businessmen--Mississippi--Vicksburg 1
Busing for school integration--United States 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
Camps for girls--Virginia 1
Charities--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 2
Italian 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
Virginia Symphony 6
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
∨ more
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
United States. Congress. House 3
United States. Navy 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler (1813-1896) 1
Buck family 1
Butler, Hugh Lee (1871-1946) 1
CBS Television Network 1
Caplan, Paul Glasser (1918-2003) 1
Carson, Edward G. (1920–2004) 1
Carter, Jimmy (1924-) 1
Carter, John Paul (1923-1997) 1
Chenowitt family 1
Chew, Samuel 1
Church Women United 1
Claiborne family 1
Clan MacLeod Society (Scotland) 1
Clan MacLeod Society USA 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Cook family 1
Cooke, John Warren (1915-) 1
Cooper, Bettie Minette 1
Cooper, Dudley (1899-1996) 1
Cooper, Eligoh B. 1
Copper, Cheryl 1
Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads 1
D'Orso, Michael 1
Dabney family 1
Dabney, Elizabeth Calvert Page 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties 1
Delivering Inclusive Access to Disabled and Elderly Members (DIADEM) 1
Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) 1
Discoverer (Ship) 1
Donn, Allan G. (1939-) 1
Doughty family 1
Duckworth, W. Fred (1899-1972) 1
Dunvegan Foundation 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Federation of Garden Clubs of Norfolk and Vicinity 1
Ferguson family 1
Ferguson, Finlay Forbes 1
First Presbyterian Church of Norfolk (Va.) 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas (1929-2006) 1
Florence Crittenton Home (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Floyd, John B. (John Buchanan) (1806-1863) 1
Ford, Charles H. (1964-) 1
Ford, Gerald R. (1913-2006) 1
Fortnightly Study Club (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Foster Grandparent Program (U.S.) 1
Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 1
∧ less
 

James Bertram Haugh Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 70
Abstract

Old Dominion University Sociology Professor. Received his Ph.D. from the University of Akron in 1978. Author of the book, "Power and Influence in a Southern City." Based on his doctoral thesis, the book explores the power structure of a "Colonial City", which is actually the city of Norfolk, Virginia. The collection relates mainly to his thesis. It includes rough drafts, notes, tapes and transcripts of interviews with prominent Norfolk figures in 1978.

Dates: circa 1962-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/11/1988

Charles E. Hewins Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 26
Abstract

Relates primarily to Captain Charles E. Hewins (1841-1927), a Union soldier who settled in Hampton, Virginia after the war. Contains correspondence, and Civil War military papers documenting his activities in the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Dates: 1856-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/10/1978

Irvine B. Hill Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 100
Abstract

Irvine B. Hill has been a prominent broadcasting executive, politician, and civic leader in Norfolk, Virginia for over 40 years. This collection is made up of newspaper clippings during Hill’s time as Norfolk mayor and city councilman, as well as photographs, correspondence and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1968-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/26/2008

Hodges Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 49
Abstract

Correspondence, newspaper clippings, genealogical information, scrapbook materials, photographs. Collection primarily focuses on General John Hodges, William H. H. Hodges, and Colonel James Gregory Hodges.

Dates: 1754-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/05/1981

Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....
Dates: circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974

Robert Morton Hughes Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 7
Abstract Contains personal and political correspondence regarding his legal practice, involvement in Virginia politics and his activities in support of education. Had longtime association with the College of William and Mary, served on the State Board of Education and the Board of Directors of the Norfolk Public Library. Significant aspect of this collection is the papers of his family, Governor John B. Floyd, General Joseph E. Johnston, and Judge Robert W. Hughes, important public figures before,...
Dates: 1754-1950, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/19/1976

The Independent Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 83
Abstract Primarily comprised of correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures including General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers; colonial historical manuscripts and...
Dates: circa 1680-1960; Other: Date acquired: 02/18/2005

Jamestown Exposition Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 68
Scope and Contents This collection consists of 22 photographs, 14 mounted for exhibit purposes, that depict the Jamestown Exposition of 1907, the tercentennial of the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. The tercentennial took place in Norfolk, Virginia on land that is now part of Naval Station Norfolk. The collection includes photographs of a painting of Sir Walter Raleigh, a statue of Pocahontas, and depict such scenes as the Arch of Government Pier, the Grand Basin, the Auditorium, Willoughby...
Dates: 1907

Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 134
Scope and Contents

The Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater records contain administrative materials, publications, articles, bibliographies, historical resources, and newsletters pertaining to Jewish genealogy research. The collection pertains to various resources used for genealogical research of Jewish families in the Tidewater region.

Dates: circa 1843-2003, undated; Other: Majority of material found in 1970-1999; Other: Date acquired: 06/22/2018

Augustus C. Johnson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 71
Abstract

Writer for "The Northern Virginia Sun." A collection of columns written by Augustus C. Johnson from September 1970 through December 1971. The columns relate primarily to the politics of Virginia’s 10th congressional district. Personalities discussed in them include Joel T. Broyhill, Henry E. Howell, George Rawlings, Harry F. Byrd, Jr., William B. Spong, Linwood Holton and Mills Godwin.

Dates: 1970-2000, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/1999

League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 72
Abstract

Includes handbooks, correspondence, newsletters, agendas, minutes, membership lists, and financial records of the League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads. Contains information on the action program, education fund, speakers bureau, voters service, and studies on various issues.

Dates: circa 1940-2014, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/10/2000

Marvin Lee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 105
Scope and Contents

The collection contains an assortment of documents related to Marvin Lee, a professor at Old Dominion University and Public Housing Manager in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the mateial chronicles Lee's career with the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) but also contains personal material as well

Dates: circa 1935-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1990; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/2009

Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 139
Abstract

This collection contains press kits, booking agreements, performer contracts, correspondence, photographs, accounting records and ephemera pertaining to music performances in Hampton Roads, Virginia booked by AGL Productions between 1962 and 1975.

Dates: 1962-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/2019

Samuel J. Major Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 43
Abstract

Documents the activities of the Left Wing, Army of the Potomac during the Civil War. Includes correspondence, orders, dispatches, and operation reports.

Dates: 1861-1865; Other: Date acquired: 01/03/1980

Peter Mark Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 114
Scope and Contents

This collection contains the personal papers of Peter Mark, Founding General Director and Artistic Director of the Virginia Opera from 1974-2010. The collection includes the correspondence of Peter Mark as Artistic Director of the Virginia Opera, programs from Virginia Opera productions, administrative records of the Virginia Opera, and records pertaining to the International Opera Alliance (IOA) and the Lyric Opera of Virginia.

Dates: 1953-2014, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1980-2010; Other: Date acquired: 12/20/2012

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract

Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.

Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Massive Resistance Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960

Dennis L. McCurdy Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 42
Abstract

Dennis McCurdy was a radio news broadcaster for WPMH News and Public Affairs. Contains reel to reel audiotapes of interviews, speeches, and events regarding politics.

Dates: 1977-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/12/1979

Thomas R. McNamara Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 4
Abstract

Served in the Virginia General Assembly as a member of the House of Delegates (1968-1971) and the Senate (1972-1976). Consists of records of his service in the General Assembly, 1968-1976, including publications of state agencies and correspondence as member of the State Water Control Board.

Dates: 1961-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/00/1976

Beverly Randolph Middleton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 64
Abstract

Engineer and Virginia State Delegate. Served three terms in the Virginia House of Delegates. Most of the collection pertains to his political career. Also included is material related to his days as a student athlete at Norview High School and VPI.

Dates: circa 1938-1984, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/18/1998