Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 61 - 80 of 125

Filtered By

  • Repository: Community Collections X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 28
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 25
Virginia--Politics and government 24
School integration--Massive resistance movement 16
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 11
∨ more
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 10
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
World War, 1939-1945 6
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 6
letters (correspondence) 6
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
United States--Politics and government--20th century 5
United States. Navy--Officers 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
minutes (administrative records) 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Artists--United States 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Orchestral music--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
photographs 3
programs (documents) 3
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Authors--United States 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Faculty 2
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 2
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Racism--Prevention 2
School integration--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Scotland--Genealogy 2
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
United States--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Women in community organization--Virginia 2
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 2
World War, 1914-1918--Veterans 2
administrative reports 2
scrapbooks 2
A cappella choirs 1
Acting 1
Admirals--United States 1
African American Unitarian Universalists 1
African American schools 1
African Americans--Florida--Rosewood--History--20th century 1
African Americans--History 1
Airlie Foundation 1
Aladdin Company. Aladdin homes "built in a day" 1
Amazon River--Discovery and exploration 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch--History 1
American Confederate voluntary exiles--Peru 1
American newspapers 1
Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Princess Anne County--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Virginia Beach--History 1
Artists' contracts 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Autograph albums 1
Automobile dealers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Banks and banking--Pennsylvania 1
Battle of, Galveston, Tex., 1863 1
Boush-Tazewell-Waller House 1
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Businessmen--Mississippi--Vicksburg 1
Busing for school integration--United States 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
Camps for girls--Virginia 1
Charities--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 2
Italian 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
Virginia Symphony 6
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
∨ more
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
United States. Congress. House 3
United States. Navy 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler (1813-1896) 1
Buck family 1
Butler, Hugh Lee (1871-1946) 1
CBS Television Network 1
Caplan, Paul Glasser (1918-2003) 1
Carson, Edward G. (1920–2004) 1
Carter, Jimmy (1924-) 1
Carter, John Paul (1923-1997) 1
Chenowitt family 1
Chew, Samuel 1
Church Women United 1
Claiborne family 1
Clan MacLeod Society (Scotland) 1
Clan MacLeod Society USA 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Cook family 1
Cooke, John Warren (1915-) 1
Cooper, Bettie Minette 1
Cooper, Dudley (1899-1996) 1
Cooper, Eligoh B. 1
Copper, Cheryl 1
Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads 1
D'Orso, Michael 1
Dabney family 1
Dabney, Elizabeth Calvert Page 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties 1
Delivering Inclusive Access to Disabled and Elderly Members (DIADEM) 1
Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) 1
Discoverer (Ship) 1
Donn, Allan G. (1939-) 1
Doughty family 1
Duckworth, W. Fred (1899-1972) 1
Dunvegan Foundation 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Federation of Garden Clubs of Norfolk and Vicinity 1
Ferguson family 1
Ferguson, Finlay Forbes 1
First Presbyterian Church of Norfolk (Va.) 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas (1929-2006) 1
Florence Crittenton Home (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Floyd, John B. (John Buchanan) (1806-1863) 1
Ford, Charles H. (1964-) 1
Ford, Gerald R. (1913-2006) 1
Fortnightly Study Club (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Foster Grandparent Program (U.S.) 1
Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 1
∧ less
 

Paula J. Miller Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 117
Abstract

The Collection of Paula J. Miller consists of documents relating to Miller’s time in office of the Virginia House of Delegates from election in 2005 through 2012.

Dates: 2004-2012, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/03/2013

Zelda J. Miller Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 73
Abstract

Zelda J. Miller was a teacher at Robert E. Lee School in Norfolk, Virginia during the 1950s and 1960s. The material consists entirely of historical, civic, and tourist information about the Hampton Roads area.

Dates: 1936-1958, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/30/1999

David P. Neff Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 101
Abstract

The collection contains documents used by Dr. Neff during the development of his master’s thesis, “The Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties, 1954-1967.”

Dates: circa 1954-1990, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/03/2008

Niles' Weekly Register Concerning Nat Turner Slave Rebellion

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 140
Scope and Contents

The collection contains two issues of Niles' Weekly Register, published in Baltimore, Maryland, concerning Nat Turner's slave rebellion in Southampton, Virginia in 1831. Both issues, dated August 27 and September 3, 1831, give first-hand accounts of the rebellion from letters to the editor of the publication. The story begins on page 455 of the August 27 issue and on page 4 of the September 3 issue.

Dates: 1831; Other: Date acquired: 01/31/2020

Nineteenth Century Stethoscope

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 130
Scope and Contents

Contains a wooden Laënnec-style stethoscope thought to have been used in the early 19th century. Included in the collection is a paper scroll that accounts the early development of the stethoscope for medical purposes.

Dates: circa 1800-1860; Other: Date acquired: 09/28/2017

Norfolk 1919 Photograph Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 69
Abstract

A portfolio of 46 prints that depict small shop owners and employees of businesses in Norfolk, Virginia in 1919. Also, includes a study written by Dr. Peter Stewart, an Old Dominion University History Professor and local historian, that examines what Norfolk was like in 1919. This study is located in the collection’s control folder.

Dates: 1919 November; Other: Date acquired: 11/21/1988

Norfolk Forum Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 77
Abstract

Established in 1932, the Norfolk Forum is believed to be the oldest nonprofit, public lecture series in the U.S. The collection includes Forum business, history, events and event programs, speaker bios, promotional materials, photographs, oral histories, and video tapes of some of the speakers.

Dates: circa 1930-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2000

Norfolk Museum of Natural History Photographs

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 66
Abstract

Includes 144 photographs that depict the museum’s exhibits, staff, special functions, and activities.

Dates: undated; Other: Date acquired: 02/01/1989

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007

Norfolk United Community Fund Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 36
Abstract

The records of the Norfolk United Community Fund include minutes, reports from the Board of Trustees and various committees, collection and distribution statements, memorandums, outgoing correspondence, and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1923-1970, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/23/1979

Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview Amusement Parks Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 31
Abstract

Includes correspondence, photographs, legal documents, financial material, brochures, advertisements, news release, and newspaper clippings primarily relating to Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview amusement parks.

Dates: circa 1919-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/24/1978; Majority of material found within 1940-1979

Our Own Community Press Newspapers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 143
Abstract

A collection of 15 bound volumes that represent 21 years of the paper’s existence. The paper started in 1976 as a newsletter for the Unitarian-Universalist Gay Caucus of Norfolk and grew into an institution in the Hampton Roads community. When the paper folded in 1998, it was one of the country’s oldest gay newspapers.

Dates: 1976-1998; Other: Date acquired: 09/22/1998

Owen-Fitzgerald Scrapbook and Autograph Book

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 88
Abstract

A scrapbook of clippings of newspaper clippings with religious themes and an autograph book, both kept by Exilia Owen (Mrs. Alexander H. Fitzgerald).

Dates: circa 1865-1953; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2007

George Conoly Phillips Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 15
Abstract

Norfolk City Council member. Served as President of the United Drug Abuse Council and was active in the Inter-Christian Fellowship, the Christian Broadcasting Network, and the United Community Fund. Documents his activities in politics, business and civic affairs.

Dates: circa 1906-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/24/1977

Tom Reel Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 124
Abstract

Tom Reel is a bassist and active member in the Virginia Symphony Orchestra and became a leading proponent for the musicians during the strike in 1988. This collection outlines the strike and its aftermath and incudes a scrapbook, newspaper articles, correspondence, and newsletters.

Dates: 1986-2018, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/26/2012

Thomas Joseph Reilly Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 8
Abstract

Political correspondent for the Norfolk Ledger-Star and Norfolk Ledger-Dispatch for 26 years. Primarily newspaper columns from the Ledger-Star and background material used to research articles.

Dates: 1924-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/27/1976

Colonel James W. Roberts Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 2
Abstract

President and chairman of Henry B. Gilprin, a wholesale drug firm. Served in the General Assembly from 1948-1968, holding a powerful position on the Appropriations Committee. Served on the Norfolk Planning Commission. The bulk of the collection contains legislative correspondence from 1963-1964.

Dates: 1906, 1944-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/21/1975

Robert M. Rose Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 23
Abstract

Business records and personal correspondence of four Norfolk families. Focal point is the papers of Commander Robert M. Rose.

Dates: circa 1809-1947, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/18/1977

Schola Cantorum Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 80
Abstract

Organizational records, programs, audiovisual material and posters from the Hampton Roads music choir, Schola Cantorum.

Dates: 1995-2016, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/23/2008

Edward L. Schrock Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 82
Abstract Served on the U.S. House of Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Virginia from January 2001 to January 2005. His political and voting record is aligned closely with the Republican Party. Materials in this collection date from 1999 to 2004. They include constituent feedback in the form of letters, postcards, surveys, and public opinion ballots. Also included are other correspondence and reference material related to various issues and legislation and materials related to the...
Dates: 1999-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/12/2004