Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 81 - 100 of 125

Filtered By

  • Repository: Community Collections X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 28
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 25
Virginia--Politics and government 24
School integration--Massive resistance movement 16
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 11
∨ more
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 10
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
World War, 1939-1945 6
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 6
letters (correspondence) 6
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
United States--Politics and government--20th century 5
United States. Navy--Officers 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
minutes (administrative records) 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Artists--United States 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Orchestral music--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
photographs 3
programs (documents) 3
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Authors--United States 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Faculty 2
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 2
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Racism--Prevention 2
School integration--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Scotland--Genealogy 2
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
United States--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Women in community organization--Virginia 2
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 2
World War, 1914-1918--Veterans 2
administrative reports 2
scrapbooks 2
A cappella choirs 1
Acting 1
Admirals--United States 1
African American Unitarian Universalists 1
African American schools 1
African Americans--Florida--Rosewood--History--20th century 1
African Americans--History 1
Airlie Foundation 1
Aladdin Company. Aladdin homes "built in a day" 1
Amazon River--Discovery and exploration 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch--History 1
American Confederate voluntary exiles--Peru 1
American newspapers 1
Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Princess Anne County--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Virginia Beach--History 1
Artists' contracts 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Autograph albums 1
Automobile dealers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Banks and banking--Pennsylvania 1
Battle of, Galveston, Tex., 1863 1
Boush-Tazewell-Waller House 1
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Businessmen--Mississippi--Vicksburg 1
Busing for school integration--United States 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
Camps for girls--Virginia 1
Charities--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 2
Italian 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
Virginia Symphony 6
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
∨ more
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 3
United States. Congress. House 3
United States. Navy 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 2
Robertson, Pat (1930-) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Whitehurst, G. William (1925-) 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) (1920-1997) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
Ansel, Walter C. (1897-1977) 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Babalas, Peter K. (1922-1987) 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. (1922-2013) 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) (1810-1891) 1
Barron, James S. (1875-1941) 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler (1813-1896) 1
Buck family 1
Butler, Hugh Lee (1871-1946) 1
CBS Television Network 1
Caplan, Paul Glasser (1918-2003) 1
Carson, Edward G. (1920–2004) 1
Carter, Jimmy (1924-) 1
Carter, John Paul (1923-1997) 1
Chenowitt family 1
Chew, Samuel 1
Church Women United 1
Claiborne family 1
Clan MacLeod Society (Scotland) 1
Clan MacLeod Society USA 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Cook family 1
Cooke, John Warren (1915-) 1
Cooper, Bettie Minette 1
Cooper, Dudley (1899-1996) 1
Cooper, Eligoh B. 1
Copper, Cheryl 1
Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads 1
D'Orso, Michael 1
Dabney family 1
Dabney, Elizabeth Calvert Page 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties 1
Delivering Inclusive Access to Disabled and Elderly Members (DIADEM) 1
Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) 1
Discoverer (Ship) 1
Donn, Allan G. (1939-) 1
Doughty family 1
Duckworth, W. Fred (1899-1972) 1
Dunvegan Foundation 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Federation of Garden Clubs of Norfolk and Vicinity 1
Ferguson family 1
Ferguson, Finlay Forbes 1
First Presbyterian Church of Norfolk (Va.) 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas (1929-2006) 1
Florence Crittenton Home (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Floyd, John B. (John Buchanan) (1806-1863) 1
Ford, Charles H. (1964-) 1
Ford, Gerald R. (1913-2006) 1
Fortnightly Study Club (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Foster Grandparent Program (U.S.) 1
Frank, Willard C., Jr. (1936-2011) 1
∧ less
 

Paul T. Schweitzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 16
Abstract

Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.

Dates: circa 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/01/1977

W.B. Shafer, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 52
Abstract Long time Norfolk native. Made his fortune in real estate and spent his life promoting humanitarian and idealistic causes. Ran unsuccessfully for Norfolk City Council in 1928 and 1966 and lost a bid for the House of Representatives in 1944. Honorary member of the Veterans of Foreign Affairs in recognition for his successful push to have bonuses paid to World War I veterans. Author of 3 Books That Made the South And 1000 Millionaires and 10 Billionaires, ...
Dates: circa 1937-1982, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/22/1982

Shipbuilding Ledger (Norfolk, Va.)

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 127
Abstract

Ledger kept near the port of Norfolk containing accounts of blacksmiths, captains, sail makers, and block makers in 1796. The college also contains 19th century clippings from literary publications.

Dates: 1796, circa 1825-1860, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/06/2014

James Washington Singleton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 10
Abstract

Prominent Peace Democrat from Illinois during the Civil War. Served in the United States House of Representatives (1879-1883). Contains family papers spanning five generations, dating from 1770 to 1975. Includes correspondence, business papers, military papers, newspaper clippings, and photographs.

Dates: 1770-1975, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1850-1920; Other: Date acquired: 01/14/1977

Eloise Word Skewis Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 30
Abstract

This collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, receipts, statement of accounts, currency, bonds, and indentures. Of note is genealogical material that relate to the Claiborne and Kilby families of Virginia.

Dates: circa 1777-1907, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/23/1978

Warren Spencer Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 121
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a draft and an original manuscript of the Whittle Papers, original letters, and photocopies of original documents (with transcriptions), notes, books, and a copy of a photograph of Lt. William Conway Whittle. The collection was assembled by Warren Spencer, professor of history at Old Dominion University.

Dates: 1864-1988, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/21/2014

A.E.S. Stephens Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 19
Abstract

Served in both the House of Delegates (1929-1941) and the State Senate (1941-1952), and as Lieutenant Governor (1952-1961). Ran unsuccessfully for the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1961 against Albertis Harrison. Centers around this unsuccessful campaign and contains papers focusing on the issue of Massive Resistance to integration, dating to the early 1950s.

Dates: 1949-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/1977

Michael J. Stolee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 102
Abstract

The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.

Dates: circa 1964-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2008

Strauss Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 9
Abstract

Collected by Arnold F. Strauss. Includes personal correspondence, diaries and journals, documents and business papers belonging to the German-Jewish Strauss family. Among the papers are many belonging to Arthur F. Strauss, a respected and successful doctor in Barmen, Germany. He was also a well known poet, art collector, and painter, closely aligned with German Expressionism. German language materials predominate.

Dates: 1839-1935, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/24/1976

Samuel Leyens Switzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 37
Abstract

Department store owner in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Includes correspondence, literary productions, legal documents, newspaper and magazine clippings, maps, memorabilia and photographs. Collection documents his service as an artillery officer in World War I. Of note are maps of Europe detailing battle positions and troop movements in World War I.

Dates: circa 1910-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/20/1980

Bertha Fanning Taylor Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 44
Abstract

Came to Norfolk in 1945 as Curator of the Sloane Collection at the Heritage Foundation Museum. Taught art courses at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary until 1951. Includes literary productions, printed materials, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and charts. In addition to the artistic significance of the papers, the collection documents the history of Norfolk, especially in the arts.

Dates: circa 1905-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/04/1981

Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 75
Abstract

Retired USAF lieutenant colonel, author, publisher, local historian. The collection includes papers from Tazewell’s years as president of the Norfolk Historical Society and Virginia History Federation. Also included is information on the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House and papers of Philip Brower, former archivist of the MacArthur Memorial in Norfolk. Brower’s papers include research on General Douglas MacArthur, personal papers and papers regarding the MacArthur Memorial Archives.

Dates: circa 1900-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/30/2000

Rosemary Thornton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 111
Abstract

The Papers of Rosemary Thornton is a collection of catalogs and documents from kit-house manufacturers such as Sears, Roebuck and Company, as well as papers that Thornton has accumulated during her search for kit-houses in the United States.

Dates: 1914-2005, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/21/2011

Tidewater History Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 91
Abstract

The Tidewater History Collection contains materials such as, newspaper clippings, whole newspapers, magazines, maps, and pamphlets related to the communities of Hampton Roads, with primary focus on Norfolk.

Dates: circa 1853-2017, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1940-2010

Transatlantic Cable Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 84
Abstract

Small collection of items related to the Atlantic Ocean: A framed segment of cable used in the first transatlantic telegraph connection, 1858; a document certifying the cable’s authenticity; a photograph of the USCG ship Marmer, 1959 and an undated photograph of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s ship Discoverer.

Dates: 1858, 1959, undated; Other: Date acquired: 02/18/2005

Admiral John Randolph Tucker Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 40
Abstract

Commander in the United States, Confederate States and Peruvian Navy. Papers deal primarily with his service as President of the Peruvian Hydrographical Commission of the Amazon. Spanish language materials predominate.

Dates: 1865-1897, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/08/1980

Unitarian Universalist Church of Norfolk Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 122
Abstract

The collection contains administrative materials, publications, articles, research materials, photographs, and audio-visual items pertaining to the Unitarian Universalist Church of Norfolk.

Dates: 1866-2011, undated; Majority of material found within 1950-1990; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/2008

USS Iowa (BB-4) Navy Band Photograph Album

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 131
Scope and Contents One photograph album of approximately 120 photographs kept by a Navy band member aboard the battleship USS Iowa (BB-4) and in France during World War I. Some of the photographs in the album include John Philip Sousa as a Navy officer, daily life on board the ship, recreation activities of the officers, the Navy band, and the Navy's NC-4 seaplane that was the first aircraft to fly nonstop across the Atlantic in the spring of 1919. The captions in the photograph album were supplied by the...
Dates: 1917-1919; Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2017

USS Vulcan (AR-5) Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 57
Abstract

Navy repair vessel. Served in both the European and Pacific theaters during World War II. Participated in the Occupation of Japan (1945-1946) and the Dominican Republic intervention (1965). Contains historical material, memorabilia, crew member recollections, press releases, newspaper clippings, and photographs.

Dates: 1898-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/1984

Virginia Beach Resorts Research Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RC 02
Content Description

This research collection contains photocopies of newspaper articles related to Seaview and other African American beach resorts, Seashore State Park, and Dudley Cooper, who operated both Ocean View Amusement Park and Seaview Beach and Amusement Park. Any copies made from the collection are for research purposes only.

Dates: 1916-2017