Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 2 of 2

Filtered By

  • Topic: City council members--Virginia--Norfolk X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 1
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∨ more
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Publishers and publishing 1
∧ less
 
Language
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
Virginia. General Assembly 1
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 1
Wood, Joseph Downing (1867-1959) 1
 

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections