Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

Filtered By

  • Topic: Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk X
  • Repository: Community Collections X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
School integration--Massive resistance movement 3
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 2
Virginia--Politics and government 2
∨ more  
Language
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 3
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 2
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59
Abstract

Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.

Dates: circa 1958-1961; Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

Allan G. Donn Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 106
Abstract

Contains court documents and a research paper related to school desegregation in Prince Edward County, Norfolk and Richmond, Virginia and North Carolina. The court documents relate to Cocheyse J. Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward County and Swan v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

Dates: 1961-1970; Other: Date acquired: 06/01/2009

Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....
Dates: circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974

Robert Morton Hughes Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 7
Abstract Contains personal and political correspondence regarding his legal practice, involvement in Virginia politics and his activities in support of education. Had longtime association with the College of William and Mary, served on the State Board of Education and the Board of Directors of the Norfolk Public Library. Significant aspect of this collection is the papers of his family, Governor John B. Floyd, General Joseph E. Johnston, and Judge Robert W. Hughes, important public figures before,...
Dates: 1754-1950, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/19/1976

Thomas R. McNamara Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 4
Abstract

Served in the Virginia General Assembly as a member of the House of Delegates (1968-1971) and the Senate (1972-1976). Consists of records of his service in the General Assembly, 1968-1976, including publications of state agencies and correspondence as member of the State Water Control Board.

Dates: 1961-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/00/1976