Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
- Housing--United States 2
- Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 2
- Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Gynecologists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Ocean View Amusement Park (Norfolk, Va.) 1
- Optometrists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 1 ∧ less
- Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
- Eastern Virginia Medical School 2
- Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
- Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
- Cooper, Dudley (1899-1996) 1
- Duckworth, W. Fred (1899-1972) 1
- Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
- Lee, Marvin (1921-) 1
- MacArthur Memorial 1
- MacArthur, Douglas 1
- Stanley, Thomas B. (Thomas Bahnson) (1890-1970) 1
- United States. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development 1 ∧ less
Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.
Served as the Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) from 1941-1969 and, thereafter, as Assistant Secretary for Renewal and Housing Assistance in the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) during Nixon’s administration. Collection chiefly consists of the records accumulated during his service with the NRHA and HUD.
Mayor of Norfolk (1950-1962). Collection consists of memorabilia, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and artifacts relating to his political, business and civic activities.
The collection contains an assortment of documents related to Marvin Lee, a professor at Old Dominion University and Public Housing Manager in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the mateial chronicles Lee's career with the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) but also contains personal material as well
Includes correspondence, photographs, legal documents, financial material, brochures, advertisements, news release, and newspaper clippings primarily relating to Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview amusement parks.