Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 2 of 2

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century X
  • People/Organizations: Eastern Virginia Medical School X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Gynecologists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Housing--United States 1
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∨ more
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 1
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 1
United States. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development 1
 

Mason C. Andrews Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 62
Abstract

Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.

Dates: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Majority of material found within 1950-1990
Found in: Community Collections

Lawrence M. Cox, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 38
Abstract

Served as the Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) from 1941-1969 and, thereafter, as Assistant Secretary for Renewal and Housing Assistance in the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) during Nixon’s administration. Collection chiefly consists of the records accumulated during his service with the NRHA and HUD.

Dates: 1902-2002, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/23/1977
Found in: Community Collections