Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 16 of 16

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century X
  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 15
University Archives 1
 
Topic
School integration--Massive resistance movement 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 7
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
∨ more  
People/Organizations
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Abbott, Carl (1944-) 1

Carl Abbott Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B7
Abstract

Small collection focusing on materials used by Carl Abbott who taught history at Old Dominion University from 1972 to 1978.

Dates: 1958-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/10/2012

Mason C. Andrews Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 62
Abstract

Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.

Dates: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Majority of material found within 1950-1990

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59
Abstract

Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.

Dates: circa 1958-1961; Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

Hugh Lee Butler Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 58
Abstract

Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.

Dates: 1896-1953, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/09/1985

Paul G. Caplan Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 78
Abstract Norfolk pharmacist. Chaired the board of the Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority, which runs Norfolk International Terminals and the Norfolk International Airport, for thirteen years and was a board member from 1962 to 1987. Served on several political campaign committees, including those of Roy B. Martin and Stanley Walker. Was very active in civic affairs, including the Norfolk Junior Chamber of Commerce, Virginia Jaycees, United States Jaycees, Tidewater Chapter of the American Red...
Dates: circa 1890-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/10/2003

W. Fred Duckworth Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 45
Abstract

Mayor of Norfolk (1950-1962). Collection consists of memorabilia, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and artifacts relating to his political, business and civic activities.

Dates: circa 1908-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/07/1980

Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 118
Abstract

This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.

Dates: 1895-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/24/1977

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract

Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.

Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Massive Resistance Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007

W.B. Shafer, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 52
Abstract Long time Norfolk native. Made his fortune in real estate and spent his life promoting humanitarian and idealistic causes. Ran unsuccessfully for Norfolk City Council in 1928 and 1966 and lost a bid for the House of Representatives in 1944. Honorary member of the Veterans of Foreign Affairs in recognition for his successful push to have bonuses paid to World War I veterans. Author of 3 Books That Made the South And 1000 Millionaires and 10 Billionaires, ...
Dates: circa 1937-1982, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/22/1982

Forrest P. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 5
Abstract

Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.

Dates: circa 1950-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/1976

Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 96
Abstract

Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.

Dates: 1974-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2007

Margaret White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract

Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.

Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract

Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.

Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976