Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 21 - 30 of 30

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 25
University Archives 5
 
Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 16
School integration--Massive resistance movement 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 7
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
∨ more
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 5
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Race relations--History--20th century 4
Virginia--Politics and government 4
African Americans--Civil rights 3
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 3
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 3
African Americans--Segregation 2
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Housing--United States 2
Old Dominion University--History 2
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 2
Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
Boush-Tazewell-Waller House 1
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Charities--Virginia--Norfolk 1
City Planning--Virginia--Isle of Wight County (Va.) 1
City Planning--Virginia--Newport News 1
City Planning--Virginia--Virginia Beach 1
City treasurers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Discrimination against African Americans 1
Gray Commission (Va.) 1
Gynecologists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 1
Iowa (Battleship) 1
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Lost class of '59 1
Museums--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Ocean View Amusement Park (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Old Dominion College--Student life 1
Old Dominion University--Faculty 1
Optometrists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Pharmacists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Philanthropists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Racism--Prevention 1
Real estate agents--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Ship captains 1
United States. Navy--History 1
United States. Navy--Officers 1
Vietnam War, 1961-1975--Protest movements 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginian-pilot 1
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
audiovisual materials 1
letters (correspondence) 1
newspapers 1
photographs 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. (1912-2002) 2
Eastern Virginia Medical School 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
∨ more
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Abbott, Carl (1944-) 1
American Red Cross 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006) 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Burgess, Charles O. (1929-2019) 1
Butler, Hugh Lee (1871-1946) 1
CBS Television Network 1
Caplan, Paul Glasser (1918-2003) 1
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 1
Cooper, Dudley (1899-1996) 1
Davis, Samuel 1
Duckworth, W. Fred (1899-1972) 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas (1929-2006) 1
Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Jaffe, Alice Rice (1888-1950) 1
Jaffe, Louis I.(Louis Isaac) (1888-1950) 1
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald) (1917-1963) 1
Lee, Marvin (1921-) 1
Little Theatre (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Miller, Zelda J. (-1998) 1
Norfolk Bicentennial Commission 1
Norfolk Chamber of Commerce 1
Norfolk College of William and Mary 1
Norfolk Committee for Public Schools (Va.) 1
Norfolk Historical Society (Va.) 1
Norfolk International Airport (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 1
Norfolk Museum of Natural History 1
Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority 1
Norfolk Public Schools (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Norfolk United Community Fund 1
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 1
Old Dominion University. Department of History 1
Old Dominion University. Libraries 1
Old Dominion University. Masquers Group 1
Old Dominion University. University Archives 1
Powell, Adam Clayton (1908-1972) 1
Rice, Henry 1
Sechrist, Scott R. 1
Shafer, W. Bruce, Jr. (1894-1990) 1
Sousa, John Philip (1854-1932) 1
Stanley, Thomas B. (Thomas Bahnson) (1890-1970) 1
Sweeney, James R. 1
Tazewell, C. W. (Calvert Walke) (1917-2002) 1
United Community Funds and Councils of America 1
United States. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development 1
Virginia History Federation 1
Virginia Zoo (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Webb, Louis 1
White, Forest R. (1947-) 1
White, Forrest P. (1920-1995) 1
White, Margaret E. (1908-1995) 1
Wood, Joseph Downing (1867-1959) 1
Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 1
Zetlin, Florence 1
∧ less
 

Scott R. Sechrist Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 24-4B1
Scope and Contents

This collection contains flyers, publications, and newspapers related to social justice in Norfolk collected by Scott Sechrist while a student at Old Dominion University in the early 1970s. The collection consists of four issues of the underground Newspaper, The Norfolk Gorilla, bumper stickers for radio station K-94 and the 1972 Presidential Campaign of George McGovern and Sargent Shriver, as well as other anti-Vietnam publications.

Dates: circa 1970-1974; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2016

W.B. Shafer, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 52
Abstract Long time Norfolk native. Made his fortune in real estate and spent his life promoting humanitarian and idealistic causes. Ran unsuccessfully for Norfolk City Council in 1928 and 1966 and lost a bid for the House of Representatives in 1944. Honorary member of the Veterans of Foreign Affairs in recognition for his successful push to have bonuses paid to World War I veterans. Author of 3 Books That Made the South And 1000 Millionaires and 10 Billionaires, ...
Dates: circa 1937-1982, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/22/1982

James R. Sweeney Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 10-4B1
Abstract

This collection includes material related to Old Dominion University and Hampton Roads history collected by Dr. James R. Sweeney, associate professor of history and former University Archivist.

Dates: circa 1905-2018, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1970-1980; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1981

Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 75
Abstract

Retired USAF lieutenant colonel, author, publisher, local historian. The collection includes papers from Tazewell’s years as president of the Norfolk Historical Society and Virginia History Federation. Also included is information on the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House and papers of Philip Brower, former archivist of the MacArthur Memorial in Norfolk. Brower’s papers include research on General Douglas MacArthur, personal papers and papers regarding the MacArthur Memorial Archives.

Dates: circa 1900-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/30/2000

USS Iowa (BB-4) Navy Band Photograph Album

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 131
Scope and Contents One photograph album of approximately 120 photographs kept by a Navy band member aboard the battleship USS Iowa (BB-4) and in France during World War I. Some of the photographs in the album include John Philip Sousa as a Navy officer, daily life on board the ship, recreation activities of the officers, the Navy band, and the Navy's NC-4 seaplane that was the first aircraft to fly nonstop across the Atlantic in the spring of 1919. The captions in the photograph album were supplied by the...
Dates: 1917-1919; Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2017

Forrest P. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 5
Abstract

Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.

Dates: circa 1950-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/1976

Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 96
Abstract

Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.

Dates: 1974-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2007

Margaret White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract

Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.

Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract

Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.

Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976