Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 13 of 13

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Repository: Community Collections X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Virginia--Politics and government 11
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 3
∨ more  
Language
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 4
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 4
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
CBS Television Network 1

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976

Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 118
Abstract

This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.

Dates: 1895-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/24/1977

Edythe C. Harrison Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 60
Abstract

Member of the Virginia House of Delegates (1979-1982), founder and president of the Virginia Opera Association, and unsuccessful candidate for United States Senator in 1984 against incumbent Republican, Senator John Warner. The first woman in Virginia nominated by the Democratic Party for statewide office. Collection primarily relates to her activities in politics and the 1984 Senatorial campaign.

Dates: 1961-1994, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/01/1994

James Bertram Haugh Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 70
Abstract

Old Dominion University Sociology Professor. Received his Ph.D. from the University of Akron in 1978. Author of the book, "Power and Influence in a Southern City." Based on his doctoral thesis, the book explores the power structure of a "Colonial City", which is actually the city of Norfolk, Virginia. The collection relates mainly to his thesis. It includes rough drafts, notes, tapes and transcripts of interviews with prominent Norfolk figures in 1978.

Dates: circa 1962-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/11/1988

League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 72
Abstract

Includes handbooks, correspondence, newsletters, agendas, minutes, membership lists, and financial records of the League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads. Contains information on the action program, education fund, speakers bureau, voters service, and studies on various issues.

Dates: circa 1940-2014, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/10/2000

Massive Resistance Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960

Paula J. Miller Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 117
Abstract

The Collection of Paula J. Miller consists of documents relating to Miller’s time in office of the Virginia House of Delegates from election in 2005 through 2012.

Dates: 2004-2012, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/03/2013

George Conoly Phillips Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 15
Abstract

Norfolk City Council member. Served as President of the United Drug Abuse Council and was active in the Inter-Christian Fellowship, the Christian Broadcasting Network, and the United Community Fund. Documents his activities in politics, business and civic affairs.

Dates: circa 1906-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/24/1977

Thomas Joseph Reilly Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 8
Abstract

Political correspondent for the Norfolk Ledger-Star and Norfolk Ledger-Dispatch for 26 years. Primarily newspaper columns from the Ledger-Star and background material used to research articles.

Dates: 1924-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/27/1976

Colonel James W. Roberts Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 2
Abstract

President and chairman of Henry B. Gilprin, a wholesale drug firm. Served in the General Assembly from 1948-1968, holding a powerful position on the Appropriations Committee. Served on the Norfolk Planning Commission. The bulk of the collection contains legislative correspondence from 1963-1964.

Dates: 1906, 1944-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/21/1975

Margaret White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract

Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.

Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract

Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.

Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976