Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 2 of 2

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
African Americans--Civil rights 1
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 1
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Race relations--History--20th century 1
∨ more
Racism--Prevention 1
School integration--Massive resistance movement 1
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 1
Virginia--Politics and government 1
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 1
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Wood, Joseph Downing (1867-1959) 1
 

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract

Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.

Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections