Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • People/Organizations: Virginia. General Assembly X
  • People/Organizations: Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 2
Virginia--Politics and government 2
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 2
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976

Edythe C. Harrison Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 60
Abstract

Member of the Virginia House of Delegates (1979-1982), founder and president of the Virginia Opera Association, and unsuccessful candidate for United States Senator in 1984 against incumbent Republican, Senator John Warner. The first woman in Virginia nominated by the Democratic Party for statewide office. Collection primarily relates to her activities in politics and the 1984 Senatorial campaign.

Dates: 1961-1994, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/01/1994

Colonel James W. Roberts Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 2
Abstract

President and chairman of Henry B. Gilprin, a wholesale drug firm. Served in the General Assembly from 1948-1968, holding a powerful position on the Appropriations Committee. Served on the Norfolk Planning Commission. The bulk of the collection contains legislative correspondence from 1963-1964.

Dates: 1906, 1944-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/21/1975