Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 2 of 2

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century X
  • Topic: School closings--Virginia--Norfolk X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Lost class of '59 1
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
 
People/Organizations
CBS Television Network 1
Norfolk Bicentennial Commission 1
White, Margaret E. (1908-1995) 1
Yaco, Sonia (1957-) 1
 

Massive Resistance Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Margaret White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract

Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.

Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections