Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 2 of 2

Filtered By

  • Topic: School integration--Massive resistance movement X
  • Topic: Race relations--History--20th century X
  • People/Organizations: Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
African Americans--Segregation 1
Discrimination against African Americans 1
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Racism--Prevention 1
∨ more
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Virginia--Politics and government 1
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 1
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1
Powell, Adam Clayton (1908-1972) 1
 

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract

Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.

Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract

Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.

Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982
Found in: ODU Community Collections