Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Filtered By

  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Topic: City council members--Virginia--Norfolk X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 4
Virginia--Politics and government 3
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 2
∨ more
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 2
Automobile dealers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
City treasurers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Governors--Election--History--20th century 1
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 1
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Publishers and publishing 1
Real estate agents--Virginia--Norfolk 1
School integration--Massive resistance movement 1
Virginia--Lieutenant-governors 1
audiovisual materials 1
∧ less
 
Language
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 2
Banks, Benjamin A. (1884-1974) 1
First Presbyterian Church of Norfolk (Va.) 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas (1929-2006) 1
Freedom Automotive (Norfolk, Va.) 1
∨ more
Howell, Elizabeth McCarty (1917-2005) 1
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 1
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald) (1917-1963) 1
Phillips Automotive Inc. 1
Phillips, George Conoly (1931-2020) 1
Robertson, Pat (1930-) 1
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 1
Wood, Joseph Downing (1867-1959) 1
∧ less
 

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract

Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.

Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 118
Abstract

This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.

Dates: 1895-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/24/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....
Dates: circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974
Found in: ODU Community Collections

George Conoly Phillips Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 15
Abstract

Norfolk City Council member. Served as President of the United Drug Abuse Council and was active in the Inter-Christian Fellowship, the Christian Broadcasting Network, and the United Community Fund. Documents his activities in politics, business and civic affairs.

Dates: circa 1906-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/24/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Joseph D. Wood Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 3
Abstract

President of the Wood Towing Company (Tugboats). Served on the Norfolk City Council (1926-1930, 1934-1944) and as Mayor (1940-1944) during World War II. Collection contains business papers, mayoral files, correspondence and the papers of his service on the Elizabeth River Tunnel Commission.

Dates: 1917-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/01/1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections