Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Walter C. Ansel Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 29
Abstract Collection deals primarily with Admiral Walter C. Ansel's research on German operations during World War III resulting in two books, Hitler Confronts England and Hitler and the Middle Sea. Of note is extensive correspondence with German officers, many of which are in German.
Dates: circa 1917-1974, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1978

Guantanamo Bay Off-Campus Credit Program Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 23-6A
Abstract The collection includes administrative records and publications related to the Guantanamo Bay off-campus credit program offered by Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1964-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/08/1982

USS Vulcan (AR-5) Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 57
Abstract Navy repair vessel. Served in both the European and Pacific theaters during World War II. Participated in the Occupation of Japan (1945-1946) and the Dominican Republic intervention (1965). Contains historical material, memorabilia, crew member recollections, press releases, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Dates: 1898-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/1984

Thom Williamson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 11
Abstract Engineer in United States Navy from 1853 until 1912, when he was relieved from active duty as a Chief Engineer with the rank of Rear Admiral. During the Civil War he served on the U.S.S. Hartford, the flagship of Rear Admiral David Farragut, and was present at the Battle of Mobile Bay in 1864. Collection consists of general correspondence, naval correspondence, diaries, and military papers from his service in the Navy.
Dates: 1853-1913, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/02/1976