Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 20 of 125

Filtered By

  • Repository: Community Collections X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 28
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 25
Virginia--Politics and government 24
School integration--Massive resistance movement 16
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 11
∨ more
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 10
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
World War, 1939-1945 6
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 6
letters (correspondence) 6
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
United States--Politics and government--20th century 5
United States. Navy--Officers 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
minutes (administrative records) 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Artists--United States 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Orchestral music--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
photographs 3
programs (documents) 3
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Authors--United States 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Faculty 2
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 2
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Racism--Prevention 2
School integration--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Scotland--Genealogy 2
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
United States--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Women in community organization--Virginia 2
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 2
World War, 1914-1918--Veterans 2
administrative reports 2
scrapbooks 2
A cappella choirs 1
Acting 1
Admirals--United States 1
African American Unitarian Universalists 1
African American schools 1
African Americans--Florida--Rosewood--History--20th century 1
African Americans--History 1
Airlie Foundation 1
Aladdin Company. Aladdin homes "built in a day" 1
Amazon River--Discovery and exploration 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch--History 1
American Confederate voluntary exiles--Peru 1
American newspapers 1
Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Princess Anne County--History 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Virginia Beach--History 1
Artists' contracts 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Autograph albums 1
Automobile dealers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Banks and banking--Pennsylvania 1
Battle of, Galveston, Tex., 1863 1
Boush-Tazewell-Waller House 1
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Businessmen--Mississippi--Vicksburg 1
Busing for school integration--United States 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
Camps for girls--Virginia 1
Charities--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 2
Italian 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
Virginia Symphony 6
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
∨ more
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
United States. Congress. House 3
United States. Navy 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
Phillips, George Conoly 2
Robertson, Pat 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Whitehurst, G. William 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Ansel, Walter C. 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) 1
Barron, James S. 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler 1
Buck family 1
Butler, Hugh Lee 1
CBS Television Network 1
Caplan, Paul Glasser 1
Carson, Edward G. 1
Carter, Jimmy 1
Carter, John Paul 1
Chenowitt family 1
Chew, Samuel 1
Church Women United 1
Claiborne family 1
Clan MacLeod Society (Scotland) 1
Clan MacLeod Society USA 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Cook family 1
Cooke, John Warren 1
Cooper, Bettie Minette 1
Cooper, Dudley 1
Cooper, Eligoh B. 1
Copper, Cheryl 1
Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads 1
D'Orso, Michael 1
Dabney family 1
Dabney, Elizabeth Calvert Page 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties 1
Delivering Inclusive Access to Disabled and Elderly Members (DIADEM) 1
Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) 1
Discoverer (Ship) 1
Donn, Allan G. 1
Doughty family 1
Duckworth, W. Fred 1
Dunvegan Foundation 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Federation of Garden Clubs of Norfolk and Vicinity 1
Ferguson family 1
Ferguson, Finlay Forbes 1
First Presbyterian Church of Norfolk (Va.) 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas 1
Florence Crittenton Home (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Floyd, John B. (John Buchanan) 1
Ford, Charles H. 1
Ford, Gerald R. 1
Fortnightly Study Club (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Foster Grandparent Program (U.S.) 1
Frank, Willard C., Jr. 1
∧ less
 

1907 Jamestown Exposition, St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 89
Abstract Consists of material related to the first Episcopal Church in North America, which was exhibited in the 1907 Exposition.
Dates: 1907-1908; Other: Date acquired: 05/14/2007

Howard Bertram Aison Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 61
Abstract Aison was a career Army officer who served in World War II, Korea, and Vietnam. This collection primarily relates to his service in these wars. Includes correspondence, photographs, citations, orders, diaries and recollections, unit histories, artifacts, and maps.
Dates: circa 1919-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/22/1999

Allen-Johnson Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 48
Abstract Family resided in Maine. Contains correspondence, genealogical material, receipts, a ledger book, and newspapers clippings.
Dates: 1838-1947, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/22/1980

Herbert Ambrose Letters

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 133
Scope and Contents The collection includes letters written by Sergeant Herbert Ambrose while he worked in the 506 United States Army Infantry Postal Unit during World War II. Most of the letters are written by Ambrose to his parents about his daily life from various locations throughout the war including Boston, Scotland, Southern England, France, and Germany.
Dates: 1942-1945; Other: Date acquired: 08/24/2018

American Association of University Women, Norfolk Branch (AAUW) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 74
Abstract The AAUW is a national organization that promotes education and equity for all women and girls. The Norfolk Branch began as a college club in 1902, then joined the AAUW in 1921. The collection spans the years 1902 to 1999 and includes meeting minutes, annual reports, publications, information about branch activities and scrapbooks.
Dates: circa 1902-2000, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/28/2000

Mason C. Andrews Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 62
Abstract Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.
Dates: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Majority of material found within 1950-1990

Walter C. Ansel Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 29
Abstract Collection deals primarily with Admiral Walter C. Ansel's research on German operations during World War III resulting in two books, Hitler Confronts England and Hitler and the Middle Sea. Of note is extensive correspondence with German officers, many of which are in German.
Dates: circa 1917-1974, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1978

Peter Kostas Babalas Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 17
Abstract Represented the 5th District in the Virginia State Senate from 1967-1987. Collection primarily relates to his service in the State Senate from 1972-1979.
Dates: 1943-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1977

Eleanor J. Bader Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 107
Abstract Chronicling the family and personal life, education, career, and community involvement of Eleanor J. Bader. Career includes work with the Delaware Curative Workshop, the National Easter Seal Society, and the Social Security Administration. Community involvment includes membership and volunteer work for the Virginia Opera, the Virginia Symphony, Cancer Care Foundation of Tidewater, WHRO, and many other professional and civic organizations in Virginia and Delaware. Materials in the collection...
Dates: circa 1922-2013, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/10/2010

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.
Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976

James S. Barron Letters

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 137
Scope and Contents This collection consists of two letters written to James S. Barron, a Virginia State Senator representing Norfolk. The first letter, dated 1913, is from the African-American men of the Bank Street Baptist Church thanking him for his service on his birthday. Also included is an autographed signed letter to Barron from President Franklin Delano Roosevelt thanking him for sending photographs of Confederate States of America ships. The collection contains both the original and a copy of each letter.
Dates: 1913, 1937; Other: Date acquired: 08/28/2019

Elie Beatty Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 22
Scope and Contents The collection consists of letters and financial transactions related to Elie Beatty, a cashier at the Hagerstown Bank.
Dates: 1814-1847; Other: Date acquired: 06/05/1977

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59
Abstract Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.
Dates: circa 1958-1961; Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

Buck Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 12
Scope and Contents Three letters constitute this collection. The letters are from Solomon Bachus of Granville County, New York, to his brother Herman Hyde of Essex, Vermont, (July 12, 1807); from Arabret Luckland of Bloomingdale to her cousin Louisa Buck of Westford, Vermont (May 24, 1846) and from Rosannah Chen(owitt) of Monroe, Wisconsin, to Miss Louisa Buck of Westford, Vermont (July 28, 1850).
Dates: 1807-1850; Other: Date acquired: 11/05/1976

Hugh Lee Butler Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 58
Abstract Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.
Dates: 1896-1953, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/09/1985

Paul G. Caplan Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 78
Abstract Norfolk pharmacist. Chaired the board of the Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority, which runs Norfolk International Terminals and the Norfolk International Airport, for thirteen years and was a board member from 1962 to 1987. Served on several political campaign committees, including those of Roy B. Martin and Stanley Walker. Was very active in civic affairs, including the Norfolk Junior Chamber of Commerce, Virginia Jaycees, United States Jaycees, Tidewater Chapter of the American Red Cross,...
Dates: circa 1890-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/10/2003

Edward G. Carson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 87
Abstract Norfolk landscape architect and artist. Designed landscapes for buildings ranging from Webb Center to the bowling alley at a US Air Force base in Italy. The collection includes approximately three hundred oversized landscape plans, as well as a small number of photographs and written descriptions of landscape designs.
Dates: 1924-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1970-2000; Other: Date acquired: 10/12/2007

John Paul Carter Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 63
Abstract Episcopal priest, active in Virginia Democratic Politics. Served on the Committee for Fair Redistricting, Airlie Foundation, and the Virginia Political Study Group. Was active in Henry Howell’s political campaigns. The collection includes papers on political issues in Virginia during the 1960’s and 1970’s.
Dates: 1965-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1999

Clan MacLeod Society USA Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 41
Abstract A Scottish genealogical and historical society. Includes minutes, proceedings and business papers for the organization.
Dates: 1899-2020, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/08/1979

Cook Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 46
Abstract Bulk of collection consists of the papers of Allen M. Cook and documents the development of subdivisions in Norfolk and Virginia Beach, and the career of a naval officer from 1899 to 1919. Includes business papers, financial documents, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings. Of note are the minutes and proceedings of the Princess Anne and Norfolk Mutual Building and Loan Association.
Dates: 1872-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/12/1980