Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

Cook Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 46
Abstract Bulk of collection consists of the papers of Allen M. Cook and documents the development of subdivisions in Norfolk and Virginia Beach, and the career of a naval officer from 1899 to 1919. Includes business papers, financial documents, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings. Of note are the minutes and proceedings of the Princess Anne and Norfolk Mutual Building and Loan Association.
Dates: 1872-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/12/1980

Doughty Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 47
Abstract Letters, paid receipts and household ledgers belonging to William Polk Fitchett, Eastern Shore plantation owner, and his family.
Dates: 1855-1904, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/20/1980

Finlay Forbes Ferguson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 50
Abstract A Norfolk architect. Descendant of longtime Norfolk family. Consists of papers concerning the restoration of the Willoughby-Baylor House and family papers documenting the history of Norfolk since the nineteenth century. Includes correspondence, business papers, ledgers, deeds, genealogical material, newspapers, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Dates: 1812-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/29/1981

Hodges Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 49
Abstract Correspondence, newspaper clippings, genealogical information, scrapbook materials, photographs. Collection primarily focuses on General John Hodges, William H. H. Hodges, and Colonel James Gregory Hodges.
Dates: 1754-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/05/1981

Robert M. Rose Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 23
Abstract Business records and personal correspondence of four Norfolk families. Focal point is the papers of Commander Robert M. Rose.
Dates: circa 1809-1947, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/18/1977

Eloise Word Skewis Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 30
Abstract This collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, receipts, statement of accounts, currency, bonds, and indentures. Of note is genealogical material that relate to the Claiborne and Kilby families of Virginia.
Dates: circa 1777-1907, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/23/1978

Whittle Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 95
Abstract This collection contains diaries, personal accounts, certificates, proceedings, receipts, literary magazines, and newspapers documenting the Whittle, Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families.
Dates: circa 1812-1943, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/26/1978