Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 10

Filtered By

  • Topic: Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Diehn Composers Room Collection 6
University Archives 3
Community Collections 1
 
Topic
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Music--United States--20th century 6
Vocal Music--20th century 3
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
∨ more  
People/Organizations
Old Dominion University 4
American String Teachers Association 1
Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
Baptist Student Union 1
Blank, Allan 1

Allan Blank Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 5
Scope and Contents The Allan Blank Papers consist primarily of scores (mainly in manuscript and facsimile formats) and materials related directly to his significant compositions and published materials, including programs, reviews and recordings. His compositions encompass a wide range of instrumentation and format. His works include pieces for a solo instrument, full orchestra, chamber ensemble, voice, music for children, and opera. Materials in this collection also document some of Mr. Blank’s personal and...
Dates: 1958-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1999

Bureau of Business and Economic Research Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-26A
Scope and Contents The collection contains publications, project files, and other information related to the Bureau of Business and Economic Research at Old Dominion University. Some of the topics in the records include Virginia Beach tourism information, project files on area ports and drug abuse, and Tidewater business growth and demographic statistics.
Dates: circa 1963-2000; Other: Date acquired: 01/17/1980

Diehn Composers Room Events Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 14
Scope and Contents This collection contains records related to events hosted by the Diehn Composers Room at Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1994-2012; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1994

Frank Erickson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 8
Scope and Contents The Frank Erickson Papers includes manuscript scores of both marching and concert band pieces, as well as his musical arrangements (mainly of traditional songs and hymns). Many of the materials that he used as a teacher of band music are also available. Newspaper articles and much of his professional and personal correspondence are also part of this collection.
Dates: 1940-1996, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2000

Charles E. Hewins Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 26
Abstract Relates primarily to Captain Charles E. Hewins (1841-1927), a Union soldier who settled in Hampton, Virginia after the war. Contains correspondence, and Civil War military papers documenting his activities in the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Dates: 1856-1951, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/10/1978

Thomas Jackson Reed Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-6B1
Abstract The collection documents Thomas Jackson Reed's academic life and his work as a consultant in urban planning, land use, political re-districting and retail marketing.
Dates: 1940-1990, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/29/1978

Harvey Stokes Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 7
Scope and Contents The collection includes correspondence, programs, publicity material, as well as newspaper articles concerning the work of composer Harvey Stokes.
Dates: 1980-2004; Other: Date acquired: 11/00/1999

William Stoney Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 11
Scope and Contents The bulk of the materials in the William Stoney Papers represent his work as an active composer. The materials include working sketches and sketchbooks and original compositions in various points of the publishing process. Other materials included in the collection relate to Stoney’s teaching and performance activities. Additional scope and content notes providing further detail can be found at the series level.
Dates: 1958-1989; Other: Date acquired: 10/00/1999

Fred Strong Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 16
Content Description This collection is primarily comprised of Fred Strong's musical compositions for piano and vocal scores, focusing on humanist, secular, and natural themes. Included in the collection is one of the composers most famous pieces – BANG! The Musical, a composition for soprano, alto, tenor, and bass. As described by the composer, "BANG! takes the audience on a trip through time and space from the big bang to present-day Earth, with a humanist message about our choices and responsibilities. The music...
Dates: 1991-2020; Other: Date acquired: 04/12/2021

Town-N-Gown Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-15A
Scope and Contents This collection contains minutes and membership directories for the Town-N-Gown, an organization dedicated to fostering good relationships between Old Dominion University, national defense forces (ex. Navy), and the Hampton Roads community.
Dates: 1980-2017; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2016