Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 20 of 30

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 25
University Archives 5
 
Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 16
School integration--Massive resistance movement 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 7
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
∨ more
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 5
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Race relations--History--20th century 4
Virginia--Politics and government 4
African Americans--Civil rights 3
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 3
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 3
African Americans--Segregation 2
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Housing--United States 2
Old Dominion University--History 2
Physicians--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 2
Amusement park owners--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Amusement parks--Virginia--Norfolk--History 1
Boush-Tazewell-Waller House 1
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
Businesses--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Charities--Virginia--Norfolk 1
City Planning--Virginia--Isle of Wight County (Va.) 1
City Planning--Virginia--Newport News 1
City Planning--Virginia--Virginia Beach 1
City treasurers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Discrimination against African Americans 1
Gray Commission (Va.) 1
Gynecologists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 1
Iowa (Battleship) 1
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Lost class of '59 1
Museums--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Ocean View Amusement Park (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Old Dominion College--Student life 1
Old Dominion University--Faculty 1
Optometrists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Pharmacists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Philanthropists--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Racism--Prevention 1
Real estate agents--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Ship captains 1
United States. Navy--History 1
United States. Navy--Officers 1
Vietnam War, 1961-1975--Protest movements 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginian-pilot 1
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
audiovisual materials 1
letters (correspondence) 1
newspapers 1
photographs 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Eastern Virginia Medical School 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
∨ more
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 2
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Abbott, Carl 1
American Red Cross 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Burgess, Charles O. 1
Butler, Hugh Lee 1
CBS Television Network 1
Caplan, Paul Glasser 1
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 1
Cooper, Dudley 1
Davis, Samuel 1
Duckworth, W. Fred 1
Eastern Virginia Medical Authority 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas 1
Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Jaffe, Alice Rice 1
Jaffe, Louis I.(Louis Isaac) 1
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald) 1
Lee, Marvin 1
Little Theatre (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Miller, Zelda J. 1
Norfolk Bicentennial Commission 1
Norfolk Chamber of Commerce 1
Norfolk College of William and Mary 1
Norfolk Committee for Public Schools (Va.) 1
Norfolk Historical Society (Va.) 1
Norfolk International Airport (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 1
Norfolk Museum of Natural History 1
Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority 1
Norfolk Public Schools (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Norfolk United Community Fund 1
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 1
Old Dominion University. Department of History 1
Old Dominion University. Libraries 1
Old Dominion University. Masquers Group 1
Old Dominion University. University Archives 1
Powell, Adam Clayton 1
Rice, Henry 1
Sechrist, Scott R. 1
Shafer, W. Bruce, Jr. 1
Sousa, John Philip 1
Stanley, Thomas B. (Thomas Bahnson) 1
Sweeney, James R. 1
Tazewell, C. W. (Calvert Walke) 1
United Community Funds and Councils of America 1
United States. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development 1
Virginia History Federation 1
Virginia Zoo (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Webb, Louis 1
White, Forest R. 1
White, Forrest P. 1
White, Margaret E. 1
Wood, Joseph Downing 1
Yaco, Sonia 1
Zetlin, Florence 1
∧ less
 

Carl Abbott Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B7
Abstract Small collection focusing on materials used by Carl Abbott who taught history at Old Dominion University from 1972 to 1978.
Dates: 1958-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/10/2012

Mason C. Andrews Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 62
Abstract Physician, former city council member and mayor of Norfolk. Served on Norfolk city council from 1974 to 2000 and as the city’s mayor from 1992-1994. Was instrumental in the development of the Eastern Virginia Medical School complex and the redevelopment of downtown Norfolk. The collection includes personal, business, and political papers.
Dates: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Majority of material found within 1950-1990

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59
Abstract Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.
Dates: circa 1958-1961; Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

Charles Burgess Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-1B1
Scope and Contents This collection includes programs, correspondence, audiovisual and other material related to Charles Burgess' involvement with the theater scene in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the correspondence involves the Little Theatre and Norfolk Theatre. The collection also contains photographs and audiovisual material of various productions by the Masquers Group, a student theater organization at Old Dominion University. Theater programs related to productions on Broadway in the 1920s are also present...
Dates: circa 1925-2000, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1980; Other: Date acquired: 05/17/2011

Hugh Lee Butler Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 58
Abstract Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.
Dates: 1896-1953, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/09/1985

Paul G. Caplan Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 78
Abstract Norfolk pharmacist. Chaired the board of the Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority, which runs Norfolk International Terminals and the Norfolk International Airport, for thirteen years and was a board member from 1962 to 1987. Served on several political campaign committees, including those of Roy B. Martin and Stanley Walker. Was very active in civic affairs, including the Norfolk Junior Chamber of Commerce, Virginia Jaycees, United States Jaycees, Tidewater Chapter of the American Red Cross,...
Dates: circa 1890-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/10/2003

Lawrence M. Cox, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 38
Abstract Served as the Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) from 1941-1969 and, thereafter, as Assistant Secretary for Renewal and Housing Assistance in the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) during Nixon’s administration. Collection chiefly consists of the records accumulated during his service with the NRHA and HUD.
Dates: 1902-2002, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/23/1977

W. Fred Duckworth Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 45
Abstract Mayor of Norfolk (1950-1962). Collection consists of memorabilia, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and artifacts relating to his political, business and civic activities.
Dates: circa 1908-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/07/1980

Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 118
Abstract This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.
Dates: 1895-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/24/1977

Alice Rice Jaffe Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B1
Abstract Includes assorted reports, newspaper articles and correspondence, etc. relating to Hampton Roads history and Old Dominion University's early history as Norfolk Division of William and Mary College. Contains material from Jaffe's family including her husband, journalist Louis I. Jaffe, her father, Colonel Henry Rice and ancestor, Captain Samuel Davis.
Dates: 1807-1950, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1919-1950; Other: Date acquired: 06/01/1977

Jamestown Exposition Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 68
Scope and Contents This collection consists of 22 photographs, 14 mounted for exhibit purposes, that depict the Jamestown Exposition of 1907, the tercentennial of the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. The tercentennial took place in Norfolk, Virginia on land that is now part of Naval Station Norfolk. The collection includes photographs of a painting of Sir Walter Raleigh, a statue of Pocahontas, and depict such scenes as the Arch of Government Pier, the Grand Basin, the Auditorium, Willoughby Boulevard...
Dates: 1907

Marvin Lee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 105
Scope and Contents The collection contains an assortment of documents related to Marvin Lee, a professor at Old Dominion University and Public Housing Manager in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the mateial chronicles Lee's career with the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) but also contains personal material as well
Dates: circa 1935-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1990; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/2009

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.
Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Massive Resistance Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960

Zelda J. Miller Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 73
Abstract Zelda J. Miller was a teacher at Robert E. Lee School in Norfolk, Virginia during the 1950s and 1960s. The material consists entirely of historical, civic, and tourist information about the Hampton Roads area.
Dates: 1936-1958, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/30/1999

Norfolk 1919 Photograph Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 69
Abstract A portfolio of 46 prints that depict small shop owners and employees of businesses in Norfolk, Virginia in 1919. Also, includes a study written by Dr. Peter Stewart, an Old Dominion University History Professor and local historian, that examines what Norfolk was like in 1919. This study is located in the collection’s control folder.
Dates: 1919 November; Other: Date acquired: 11/21/1988

Norfolk Museum of Natural History Photographs

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 66
Abstract Includes 144 photographs that depict the museum’s exhibits, staff, special functions, and activities.
Dates: undated; Other: Date acquired: 02/01/1989

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007

Norfolk United Community Fund Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 36
Abstract The records of the Norfolk United Community Fund include minutes, reports from the Board of Trustees and various committees, collection and distribution statements, memorandums, outgoing correspondence, and scrapbooks.
Dates: 1923-1970, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/23/1979

Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview Amusement Parks Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 31
Abstract Includes correspondence, photographs, legal documents, financial material, brochures, advertisements, news release, and newspaper clippings primarily relating to Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview amusement parks.
Dates: circa 1919-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/24/1978; Majority of material found within 1940-1979