Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9

Filtered By

  • Topic: Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 8
University Archives 1
 
Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 8
School integration--Massive resistance movement 8
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 7
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 7
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 6
∨ more  
People/Organizations
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Abbott, Carl 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
CBS Television Network 1

Carl Abbott Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B7
Abstract Small collection focusing on materials used by Carl Abbott who taught history at Old Dominion University from 1972 to 1978.
Dates: 1958-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/10/2012

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59
Abstract Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.
Dates: circa 1958-1961; Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.
Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007

Paul T. Schweitzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 16
Abstract Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.
Dates: circa 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/01/1977

Michael J. Stolee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 102
Abstract The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.
Dates: circa 1964-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2008

Forrest P. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 5
Abstract Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.
Dates: circa 1950-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/1976

Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 96
Abstract Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.
Dates: 1974-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2007

Margaret White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.
Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977