Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8

Filtered By

  • Topic: Race relations--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
School integration--Massive resistance movement 5
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 4
African Americans--Civil rights 3
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 3
∨ more  
People/Organizations
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 2
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
Butler, Hugh Lee 1

Hugh Lee Butler Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 58
Abstract Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.
Dates: 1896-1953, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/09/1985

Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 104
Abstract The collection contains materials dated mainly from the early 1950s through the 1960s and 70s but also houses materials from the 21st Century related to the 50th Anniversary of the End of Massive Resistance. The collection also focuses on events, legal cases, media coverage, and photographs of desegregation in Virginia.  Specific regions represented in the collection are the City of Norfolk, Prince Edward County, Farmville, Charlottesville and the Eastern Shore of Virginia.
Dates: 1958-2012; Other: Date acquired: 06/09/2009

Michael D'Orso Collection on the Rosewood Massacre

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 67
Abstract Writer for the Virginia Pilot Newspaper, author of 13 nonfiction books. This collection contains D’Orso’s notes and research material collected while writing Like Judgment Day: The Ruin and Redemption of a Town Called Rosewood. The collection includes interview tapes and transcripts, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other research materials.
Dates: circa 1923-1995, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/22/1999

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.
Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982

David P. Neff Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 101
Abstract The collection contains documents used by Dr. Neff during the development of his master’s thesis, “The Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties, 1954-1967.”
Dates: circa 1954-1990, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/03/2008

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007

Michael J. Stolee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 102
Abstract The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.
Dates: circa 1964-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2008

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.
Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982