Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
- Topic: School closings--Virginia--Norfolk X
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 3
- Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 3
- African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Virginia--Politics and government 2
- African Americans--Civil rights 1
- African Americans--Segregation 1
- Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
- Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Lost class of '59 1
- Race relations--History--20th century 1
- Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 1 ∧ less
- CBS Television Network 1
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1
- Norfolk Bicentennial Commission 1
- Norfolk Public Schools (Norfolk, Va.) 1
- Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007
Collection ID: MG 16
Abstract Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.
Dates: circa 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/01/1977
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.
Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977