Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Raymond Galindo Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 135
Scope and Contents The collection contains letters written by Raymond Galindo, of Staten Island, New York, to his parents while serving in the United States Navy in the post-World War II era. The letters discuss his day to day life in the Navy including training at Camp Peary, Virginia and working in the kitchen. Galindo eventually served on the USS Taconic (AGC-17) command ship. Most of the letters contain the original envelopes and two photographs are also included.
Dates: 1945-1949; Other: Date acquired: 04/09/2019

USS Iowa (BB-4) Navy Band Photograph Album

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 131
Scope and Contents One photograph album of approximately 120 photographs kept by a Navy band member aboard the battleship USS Iowa (BB-4) and in France during World War I. Some of the photographs in the album include John Philip Sousa as a Navy officer, daily life on board the ship, recreation activities of the officers, the Navy band, and the Navy's NC-4 seaplane that was the first aircraft to fly nonstop across the Atlantic in the spring of 1919. The captions in the photograph album were supplied by the...
Dates: 1917-1919; Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2017

USS Vulcan (AR-5) Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 57
Abstract Navy repair vessel. Served in both the European and Pacific theaters during World War II. Participated in the Occupation of Japan (1945-1946) and the Dominican Republic intervention (1965). Contains historical material, memorabilia, crew member recollections, press releases, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Dates: 1898-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/1984