Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 20 of 26

Filtered By

  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Virginia--Politics and government 24
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 13
School integration--Massive resistance movement 6
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 5
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 5
∨ more
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 3
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 3
United States--Politics and government--20th century 3
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Race relations--History--20th century 2
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 2
African Americans--Civil rights 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Airlie Foundation 1
Automobile dealers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
City treasurers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Civic leaders--Virginia--Virginia Beach 1
Episcopal Church--Clergy 1
Governors--Election--History--20th century 1
Journalists--United States 1
Judges--Virginia 1
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 1
Ledger-star 1
Lost class of '59 1
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Northern Virginia sun 1
Norview High School (Norfolk, Va.)--Sports 1
Old Dominion University--Faculty 1
Power and Influence in a Colonial City 1
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Publishers and publishing 1
Racism--Prevention 1
Racism--United States 1
Real estate agents--Virginia--Norfolk 1
School integration--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Segregation--Law and legislation--Virginia 1
States' rights (American politics) 1
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Virginia Polytechnic Institute--Sports 1
Virginia--Lieutenant-governors 1
Women legislators--Virginia 1
Women--Suffrage--United States 1
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 1
audiovisual materials 1
∧ less
 
Language
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
Phillips, George Conoly 2
∨ more
Robertson, Pat 2
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
CBS Television Network 1
Carter, Jimmy 1
Carter, John Paul 1
Cooke, John Warren 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties 1
Eastern Virginia Medical School 1
First Presbyterian Church of Norfolk (Va.) 1
Fitzpatrick, Joseph Thomas 1
Ford, Gerald R. 1
Freedom Automotive (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Harrison, Edythe C. 1
Haugh, James Bertram 1
Hayakawa, S. I. (Samuel Ichiyé) 1
Howell, Elizabeth McCarty 1
Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Johnson, Augustus C. 1
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald) 1
League of Women Voters (U.S.) 1
League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads 1
League of Women Voters of Virginia 1
Mason, Vivian Carter 1
McCurdy, Dennis L. 1
McNamara, Thomas R. 1
Middleton, Beverly Randolph 1
Miller, Andrew P. (Andrew Pickens) 1
Miller, Paula J. 1
Neff, David P. 1
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous) 1
Norfolk Bicentennial Commission 1
Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 1
Phillips Automotive Inc. 1
Reagan, Ronald 1
Reilly, Thomas Joseph 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Robb, Charles S. 1
Roberts, James W. 1
Schrock, Edward L. 1
State Water Control Board (Va.) 1
Stephens, Allie Edward Stokes 1
United States. Congress. House 1
United States. Supreme Court 1
Virginia Municipal League 1
Virginia Opera Association 1
Virginia Polytechnic Institute. Corps of Cadets 1
Virginia Port Authority 1
Virginia. State Crime Commission 1
Walker, Stanley Clay 1
White, J. Warren, Jr. 1
White, Margaret E. 1
Whitehurst, G. William 1
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Wood, Joseph Downing 1
Yaco, Sonia 1
∧ less
 

Peter Kostas Babalas Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 17
Abstract Represented the 5th District in the Virginia State Senate from 1967-1987. Collection primarily relates to his service in the State Senate from 1972-1979.
Dates: 1943-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1977

Benjamin A. Banks Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 6
Abstract Lawyer and prominent member of the Norfolk Jewish community. Served on the Norfolk Board of Aldermen (1908-1911) and in the Virginia House of Delegates (1911-1913). Active in local, state and national politics. Includes personal and political correspondence, scrapbooks, letters to the editor, and photographs.
Dates: 1855-1974; Other: Date acquired: 05/18/1976

John Paul Carter Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 63
Abstract Episcopal priest, active in Virginia Democratic Politics. Served on the Committee for Fair Redistricting, Airlie Foundation, and the Virginia Political Study Group. Was active in Henry Howell’s political campaigns. The collection includes papers on political issues in Virginia during the 1960’s and 1970’s.
Dates: 1965-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1999

Joseph T. Fitzpatrick Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 118
Abstract This collection consists of political documents, correspondence, clippings, artifacts, and other items pertaining to the career of Joseph T. Fitzpatrick.
Dates: 1895-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/24/1977

Edythe C. Harrison Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 60
Abstract Member of the Virginia House of Delegates (1979-1982), founder and president of the Virginia Opera Association, and unsuccessful candidate for United States Senator in 1984 against incumbent Republican, Senator John Warner. The first woman in Virginia nominated by the Democratic Party for statewide office. Collection primarily relates to her activities in politics and the 1984 Senatorial campaign.
Dates: 1961-1994, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/01/1994

James Bertram Haugh Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 70
Abstract Old Dominion University Sociology Professor. Received his Ph.D. from the University of Akron in 1978. Author of the book, "Power and Influence in a Southern City." Based on his doctoral thesis, the book explores the power structure of a "Colonial City", which is actually the city of Norfolk, Virginia. The collection relates mainly to his thesis. It includes rough drafts, notes, tapes and transcripts of interviews with prominent Norfolk figures in 1978.
Dates: circa 1962-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/11/1988

Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977. Included...
Dates: circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974

Augustus C. Johnson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 71
Abstract Writer for "The Northern Virginia Sun." A collection of columns written by Augustus C. Johnson from September 1970 through December 1971. The columns relate primarily to the politics of Virginia’s 10th congressional district. Personalities discussed in them include Joel T. Broyhill, Henry E. Howell, George Rawlings, Harry F. Byrd, Jr., William B. Spong, Linwood Holton and Mills Godwin.
Dates: 1970-2000, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/1999

League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 72
Abstract Includes handbooks, correspondence, newsletters, agendas, minutes, membership lists, and financial records of the League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads. Contains information on the action program, education fund, speakers bureau, voters service, and studies on various issues.
Dates: circa 1940-2014, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/10/2000

Massive Resistance Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 98
Scope and Contents The collection consists of copies of regional and national newspaper clippings covering the “Massive Resistance” movement and public reaction to the desegregation and subsequent closing of some of Norfolk’s public schools. Also discussed are state and local politicians such as Governor Lindsay Almond, Jr., who ordered the closing the Norfolk schools that enrolled African American students, and Mayor William Fred Duckworth, who opposed the desegregation of the public schools. Some of the...
Dates: circa 1954-1960

Dennis L. McCurdy Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 42
Abstract Dennis McCurdy was a radio news broadcaster for WPMH News and Public Affairs. Contains reel to reel audiotapes of interviews, speeches, and events regarding politics.
Dates: 1977-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/12/1979

Thomas R. McNamara Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 4
Abstract Served in the Virginia General Assembly as a member of the House of Delegates (1968-1971) and the Senate (1972-1976). Consists of records of his service in the General Assembly, 1968-1976, including publications of state agencies and correspondence as member of the State Water Control Board.
Dates: 1961-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/00/1976

Beverly Randolph Middleton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 64
Abstract Engineer and Virginia State Delegate. Served three terms in the Virginia House of Delegates. Most of the collection pertains to his political career. Also included is material related to his days as a student athlete at Norview High School and VPI.
Dates: circa 1938-1984, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/18/1998

Paula J. Miller Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 117
Abstract The Collection of Paula J. Miller consists of documents relating to Miller’s time in office of the Virginia House of Delegates from election in 2005 through 2012.
Dates: 2004-2012, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/03/2013

David P. Neff Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 101
Abstract The collection contains documents used by Dr. Neff during the development of his master’s thesis, “The Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties, 1954-1967.”
Dates: circa 1954-1990, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/03/2008

George Conoly Phillips Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 15
Abstract Norfolk City Council member. Served as President of the United Drug Abuse Council and was active in the Inter-Christian Fellowship, the Christian Broadcasting Network, and the United Community Fund. Documents his activities in politics, business and civic affairs.
Dates: circa 1906-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/24/1977

Thomas Joseph Reilly Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 8
Abstract Political correspondent for the Norfolk Ledger-Star and Norfolk Ledger-Dispatch for 26 years. Primarily newspaper columns from the Ledger-Star and background material used to research articles.
Dates: 1924-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/27/1976

Colonel James W. Roberts Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 2
Abstract President and chairman of Henry B. Gilprin, a wholesale drug firm. Served in the General Assembly from 1948-1968, holding a powerful position on the Appropriations Committee. Served on the Norfolk Planning Commission. The bulk of the collection contains legislative correspondence from 1963-1964.
Dates: 1906, 1944-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/21/1975

Edward L. Schrock Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 82
Abstract Served on the U.S. House of Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Virginia from January 2001 to January 2005. His political and voting record is aligned closely with the Republican Party. Materials in this collection date from 1999 to 2004. They include constituent feedback in the form of letters, postcards, surveys, and public opinion ballots. Also included are other correspondence and reference material related to various issues and legislation and materials related to the U.S....
Dates: 1999-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/12/2004

A.E.S. Stephens Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 19
Abstract Served in both the House of Delegates (1929-1941) and the State Senate (1941-1952), and as Lieutenant Governor (1952-1961). Ran unsuccessfully for the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1961 against Albertis Harrison. Centers around this unsuccessful campaign and contains papers focusing on the issue of Massive Resistance to integration, dating to the early 1950s.
Dates: 1949-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/1977