Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
- Topic: World War, 1914-1918 X
- United States. Navy--History 2
- World War, 1914-1918--Veterans 2
- World War, 1939-1945 2
- Admirals--United States 1
- Businessmen--Mississippi--Vicksburg 1
- Civic leaders--Mississippi--Vicksburg 1
- Iowa (Battleship) 1
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Political refugees--Haiti 1
- Rose Carida incident, May 14 1983 1
- United States. Navy--Officers 1
- United States. Navy--Repair ships 1
- World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 1 ∧ less
- German 1
- United States. Navy 2
- Ansel, Walter C. 1
- Harvard University 1
- Sousa, John Philip 1
- Southwood, Michael A. 1
Collection ID: MG 29
Abstract Collection deals primarily with Admiral Walter C. Ansel's research on German operations during World War III resulting in two books, Hitler Confronts England and Hitler and the Middle Sea. Of note is extensive correspondence with German officers, many of which are in German.
Dates: circa 1917-1974, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1978
Collection ID: MG 37
Abstract Department store owner in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Includes correspondence, literary productions, legal documents, newspaper and magazine clippings, maps, memorabilia and photographs. Collection documents his service as an artillery officer in World War I. Of note are maps of Europe detailing battle positions and troop movements in World War I.
Dates: circa 1910-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/20/1980
Collection ID: MG 131
Scope and Contents One photograph album of approximately 120 photographs kept by a Navy band member aboard the battleship USS Iowa (BB-4) and in France during World War I. Some of the photographs in the album include John Philip Sousa as a Navy officer, daily life on board the ship, recreation activities of the officers, the Navy band, and the Navy's NC-4 seaplane that was the first aircraft to fly nonstop across the Atlantic in the spring of 1919. The captions in the photograph album were supplied by the...
Dates: 1917-1919; Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2017
Collection ID: MG 57
Abstract Navy repair vessel. Served in both the European and Pacific theaters during World War II. Participated in the Occupation of Japan (1945-1946) and the Dominican Republic intervention (1965). Contains historical material, memorabilia, crew member recollections, press releases, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Dates: 1898-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/1984