Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9
- Topic: World War, 1939-1945--Veterans X
- Community Collections 6
- University Archives 3
- World War, 1939-1945 5
- Old Dominion University--Faculty 3
- Artists--United States 2
- Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
- Admirals--United States 1
- Art historians--United States 1
- Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Korean War, 1950-1953 1
- Legislators--United States 1
- Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 1
- Photographers--United States 1
- United States--Politics and Government--1945-1989 1
- United States. Army. Infantry, 506th 1
- United States. Navy--Officers 1
- Vietnam War, 1961-1975 1
- Vietnam War, 1961-1975--Veterans 1
- Virginia--Politics and government 1
- War artists--United States 1
- World War, 1914-1918 1
- World War, 1914-1918--Veterans 1
- letters (correspondence) 1 ∧ less
- German 1
- Old Dominion University. Department of Art 2
- Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
- Ambrose, Herbert 1
- Ansel, Walter C. 1
- Babalas, Peter K. 1
- Blossom, Thomas 1
- Dreyer, Wallace 1
- Lesley, Everett Parker, Jr. 1
- Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 1
- Old Dominion University. Department of History 1
- United States. Army 1
- United States. Congress. House 1
- United States. Navy 1
- Virginia. General Assembly 1
- Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 1
- Whitehurst, G. William 1
- Withers, George 1 ∧ less
Collection ID: MG 61
Abstract Aison was a career Army officer who served in World War II, Korea, and Vietnam. This collection primarily relates to his service in these wars. Includes correspondence, photographs, citations, orders, diaries and recollections, unit histories, artifacts, and maps.
Dates: circa 1919-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/22/1999
Collection ID: MG 133
Scope and Contents The collection includes letters written by Sergeant Herbert Ambrose while he worked in the 506 United States Army Infantry Postal Unit during World War II. Most of the letters are written by Ambrose to his parents about his daily life from various locations throughout the war including Boston, Scotland, Southern England, France, and Germany.
Dates: 1942-1945; Other: Date acquired: 08/24/2018
Collection ID: MG 29
Abstract Collection deals primarily with Admiral Walter C. Ansel's research on German operations during World War III resulting in two books, Hitler Confronts England and Hitler and the Middle Sea. Of note is extensive correspondence with German officers, many of which are in German.
Dates: circa 1917-1974, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1978
Collection ID: MG 17
Abstract Represented the 5th District in the Virginia State Senate from 1967-1987. Collection primarily relates to his service in the State Senate from 1972-1979.
Dates: 1943-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/25/1977
Collection ID: RG 17-5B1
Scope and Contents The collection contains material related to the professional life of Thomas Blossom, a professor in the Department of History at Old Dominion University. The collection also contains some genealogy information on Blossom's family. An oral history with Thomas Blossom is available on the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections website.
Dates: 1925-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/12/1976
Collection ID: RG 17-2B4
Abstract Wallace Dreyer, an artist, was an adjunct assistant professor and director of the photography program from 1966-1980. The collection contains professional as well as personal photographs, a sketchbook, professional and personal correspondence, a high school year book, newspaper clippings, newspaper advertisements for his art gallery business, certificates pertaining to his elementary school education and x-ray technician certification, x-ray technician employment, and his capture of enemy...
Dates: 1907-1993, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/15/2009
Collection ID: RG 17-2B2
Abstract Collection consists of a large number of photo slides related to his expertise in Byzantine Art and Architecture, as well as printed material, documentation of travels abroad, correspondence and photographs.
Dates: 1907-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/23/1982
Collection ID: MG 86
Abstract G. William Whitehurst was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from Virginia’s Second District in 1968. Member of the House Armed Services Committee, Committee on Intelligence and Ethics Committee. Consists of nineteen bound Congressional dairies spanning from 1969 to 1986. Six scrap books consisting of newspaper clippings, magazines, pictures and other documents relating to Doctor William Whitehurst’s tenure in the House of Representatives.
Dates: 1968-2016, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2007
Collection ID: MG 113
Scope and Contents This collection contains artwork by George Withers primarily related to World War II. It includes posters, copies of illustrations for military publications, letters, and an Army personnel appointment notice. An illustration of the battle on Guadalcanal for “Army Talks” magazine is included, along with an illustration from Combat Orientation. Letters of thanks from General Dwight D. Eisenhower and Lucius Clay as well as an article about an exhibit of Withers’ work at the Walt Whitman Birthplace...
Dates: 1943-1946; Other: Date acquired: 10/11/2012