Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 201 - 220 of 258

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 125
University Archives 120
Diehn Composers Room Collection 13
 
Topic
Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 30
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
Old Dominion University--History 28
Virginia--Politics and government 24
∨ more
School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
Old Dominion University--Reports 14
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
Music--United States--20th century 12
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
letters (correspondence) 11
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
World War, 1939-1945 8
College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Old Dominion University--Student life 7
United States. Navy--Officers 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
Old Dominion University--History--20th century 6
United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
minutes (administrative records) 6
photographs 6
Artists--United States 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Orchestral music--Virginia 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Old Dominion College--Student life 4
Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
Old Dominion University--Student organizations 4
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
scrapbooks 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Creative writing 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Distance education 3
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 3
Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
Old Dominion University--Commencement 3
Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
Old Dominion University--Sports 3
Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
Vocal Music--20th century 3
Women's rights 3
programs (documents) 3
African Americans--History 2
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Athletics 2
Authors--United States 2
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Composers 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Equality 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Festivals in literature 2
Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Curricula 2
Old Dominion University--Directories 2
Old Dominion University--Handbooks 2
Old Dominion University--Multimedia 2
Old Dominion University--Planning 2
Old Dominion University--Staff 2
Photographers--United States 2
∧ less
 
Language
German 3
Italian 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
French 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Old Dominion University 56
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Old Dominion College 11
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
∨ more
Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
Virginia Symphony 6
Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 4
United States. Navy 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
United States. Congress. House 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Frank, Willard C., Jr. 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Administration and Finance 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
Phillips, George Conoly 2
Robertson, Pat 2
Sweeney, James R. 2
Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Virginia Commonwealth University 2
Whitehurst, G. William 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Abbott, Carl 1
Adams, Clifford L. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Professors 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
American String Teachers Association 1
Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Ansel, Walter C. 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
Baptist Student Union 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) 1
Barron, James S. 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Bell, Walter Herman 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Blank, Allan 1
Blossom, Thomas 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler 1
Brazil. Ministério da Agricultura, Comércio e Obras Públicas 1
Breneiser, S. Eliot 1
∧ less
 

Russell Stanger Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 2
Scope and Contents This collection contains scores, recordings, programs and publicity, correspondence, and other material related to composer Russell Stanger. Parts of the collection have been digitized and can be found on the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Libraries website.
Dates: 1920-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/00/1994

A.E.S. Stephens Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 19
Abstract Served in both the House of Delegates (1929-1941) and the State Senate (1941-1952), and as Lieutenant Governor (1952-1961). Ran unsuccessfully for the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1961 against Albertis Harrison. Centers around this unsuccessful campaign and contains papers focusing on the issue of Massive Resistance to integration, dating to the early 1950s.
Dates: 1949-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/1977

Harvey Stokes Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 7
Scope and Contents The collection includes correspondence, programs, publicity material, as well as newspaper articles concerning the work of composer Harvey Stokes.
Dates: 1980-2004; Other: Date acquired: 11/00/1999

Michael J. Stolee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 102
Abstract The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.
Dates: circa 1964-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2008

William Stoney Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 11
Scope and Contents The bulk of the materials in the William Stoney Papers represent his work as an active composer. The materials include working sketches and sketchbooks and original compositions in various points of the publishing process. Other materials included in the collection relate to Stoney’s teaching and performance activities. Additional scope and content notes providing further detail can be found at the series level.
Dates: 1958-1989; Other: Date acquired: 10/00/1999

Strauss Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 9
Abstract Collected by Arnold F. Strauss. Includes personal correspondence, diaries and journals, documents and business papers belonging to the German-Jewish Strauss family. Among the papers are many belonging to Arthur F. Strauss, a respected and successful doctor in Barmen, Germany. He was also a well known poet, art collector, and painter, closely aligned with German Expressionism. German language materials predominate.
Dates: 1839-1935, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/24/1976

Fred Strong Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 16
Content Description This collection is primarily comprised of Fred Strong's musical compositions for piano and vocal scores, focusing on humanist, secular, and natural themes. Included in the collection is one of the composers most famous pieces – BANG! The Musical, a composition for soprano, alto, tenor, and bass. As described by the composer, "BANG! takes the audience on a trip through time and space from the big bang to present-day Earth, with a humanist message about our choices and responsibilities. The music...
Dates: 1991-2020; Other: Date acquired: 04/12/2021

Student Organizations Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-8A
Scope and Contents This collection contains publications associated with student organizations at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. The documents within this collection reflect the evolving interests and concerns of an expanding and diverse student body throughout the university’s history. Included are student organization publications such as literary digests, opinion journals, and student organization newsletters.
Dates: 1941-2019, undated

Student Wives Club Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-2A
Abstract Correspondence, financial records, meeting minutes, scrapbooks, and other items related to Old Dominion University Student Wives Club.
Dates: 1961-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/17/1984

James R. Sweeney Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 10-4B1
Abstract This collection includes material related to Old Dominion University and Hampton Roads history collected by Dr. James R. Sweeney, associate professor of history and former University Archivist.
Dates: circa 1905-2018, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1970-1980; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1981

Samuel Leyens Switzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 37
Abstract Department store owner in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Includes correspondence, literary productions, legal documents, newspaper and magazine clippings, maps, memorabilia and photographs. Collection documents his service as an artillery officer in World War I. Of note are maps of Europe detailing battle positions and troop movements in World War I.
Dates: circa 1910-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/20/1980

Bertha Fanning Taylor Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 44
Abstract Came to Norfolk in 1945 as Curator of the Sloane Collection at the Heritage Foundation Museum. Taught art courses at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary until 1951. Includes literary productions, printed materials, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and charts. In addition to the artistic significance of the papers, the collection documents the history of Norfolk, especially in the arts.
Dates: circa 1905-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/04/1981

Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 75
Abstract Retired USAF lieutenant colonel, author, publisher, local historian. The collection includes papers from Tazewell’s years as president of the Norfolk Historical Society and Virginia History Federation. Also included is information on the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House and papers of Philip Brower, former archivist of the MacArthur Memorial in Norfolk. Brower’s papers include research on General Douglas MacArthur, personal papers and papers regarding the MacArthur Memorial Archives.
Dates: circa 1900-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/30/2000

Rosemary Thornton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 111
Abstract The Papers of Rosemary Thornton is a collection of catalogs and documents from kit-house manufacturers such as Sears, Roebuck and Company, as well as papers that Thornton has accumulated during her search for kit-houses in the United States.
Dates: 1914-2005, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/21/2011

Tidewater History Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 91
Abstract The Tidewater History Collection contains materials such as, newspaper clippings, whole newspapers, magazines, maps, and pamphlets related to the communities of Hampton Roads, with primary focus on Norfolk.
Dates: circa 1853-2017, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1940-2010

A. Rufus Tonelson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 19-1B1
Abstract Papers primarily relate to his teaching experience at Old Dominion College and University.
Dates: circa 1922-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/25/1976

Town-N-Gown Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-15A
Scope and Contents This collection contains minutes and membership directories for the Town-N-Gown, an organization dedicated to fostering good relationships between Old Dominion University, national defense forces (ex. Navy), and the Hampton Roads community.
Dates: 1980-2017; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2016

Transatlantic Cable Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 84
Abstract Small collection of items related to the Atlantic Ocean: A framed segment of cable used in the first transatlantic telegraph connection, 1858; a document certifying the cable’s authenticity; a photograph of the USCG ship Marmer, 1959 and an undated photograph of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s ship Discoverer.
Dates: 1858, 1959, undated; Other: Date acquired: 02/18/2005

Admiral John Randolph Tucker Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 40
Abstract Commander in the United States, Confederate States and Peruvian Navy. Papers deal primarily with his service as President of the Peruvian Hydrographical Commission of the Amazon. Spanish language materials predominate.
Dates: 1865-1897, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/08/1980

Caroline Heath Tunstall Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3B2
Abstract This collection contains materials pertinent to the life and career of Caroline Heath Tunstall, an English professor at Old Dominion College. Included in this collection are high school yearbooks, negatives of photographs, various certificates,  newspaper clippings of  book reviews as well as a scrapbook, correspondence, awards, graduate work, syllabi and other papers used by Ms. Tunstall as a professor. Particularly notable are the 1925 and 1926 photographs and yearbooks from the Norfolk...
Dates: 1925-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/27/1979