Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 221 - 240 of 258

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 125
University Archives 120
Diehn Composers Room Collection 13
 
Topic
Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 30
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
Old Dominion University--History 28
Virginia--Politics and government 24
∨ more
School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
Old Dominion University--Reports 14
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
Music--United States--20th century 12
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
letters (correspondence) 11
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
World War, 1939-1945 8
College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Old Dominion University--Student life 7
United States. Navy--Officers 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
Old Dominion University--History--20th century 6
United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
minutes (administrative records) 6
photographs 6
Artists--United States 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Orchestral music--Virginia 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Old Dominion College--Student life 4
Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
Old Dominion University--Student organizations 4
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
scrapbooks 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Creative writing 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Distance education 3
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 3
Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
Old Dominion University--Commencement 3
Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
Old Dominion University--Sports 3
Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
Vocal Music--20th century 3
Women's rights 3
programs (documents) 3
African Americans--History 2
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Athletics 2
Authors--United States 2
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Composers 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Equality 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Festivals in literature 2
Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Curricula 2
Old Dominion University--Directories 2
Old Dominion University--Handbooks 2
Old Dominion University--Multimedia 2
Old Dominion University--Planning 2
Old Dominion University--Staff 2
Photographers--United States 2
∧ less
 
Language
German 3
Italian 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
French 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Old Dominion University 56
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Old Dominion College 11
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
∨ more
Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
Virginia Symphony 6
Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 4
United States. Navy 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
United States. Congress. House 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Frank, Willard C., Jr. 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Administration and Finance 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
Phillips, George Conoly 2
Robertson, Pat 2
Sweeney, James R. 2
Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Virginia Commonwealth University 2
Whitehurst, G. William 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Abbott, Carl 1
Adams, Clifford L. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Professors 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
American String Teachers Association 1
Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Ansel, Walter C. 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
Baptist Student Union 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) 1
Barron, James S. 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Bell, Walter Herman 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Blank, Allan 1
Blossom, Thomas 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler 1
Brazil. Ministério da Agricultura, Comércio e Obras Públicas 1
Breneiser, S. Eliot 1
∧ less
 

Unitarian Universalist Church of Norfolk Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 122
Abstract The collection contains administrative materials, publications, articles, research materials, photographs, and audio-visual items pertaining to the Unitarian Universalist Church of Norfolk.
Dates: 1866-2011, undated; Majority of material found within 1950-1990; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/2008

USS Iowa (BB-4) Navy Band Photograph Album

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 131
Scope and Contents One photograph album of approximately 120 photographs kept by a Navy band member aboard the battleship USS Iowa (BB-4) and in France during World War I. Some of the photographs in the album include John Philip Sousa as a Navy officer, daily life on board the ship, recreation activities of the officers, the Navy band, and the Navy's NC-4 seaplane that was the first aircraft to fly nonstop across the Atlantic in the spring of 1919. The captions in the photograph album were supplied by the...
Dates: 1917-1919; Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2017

USS Vulcan (AR-5) Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 57
Abstract Navy repair vessel. Served in both the European and Pacific theaters during World War II. Participated in the Occupation of Japan (1945-1946) and the Dominican Republic intervention (1965). Contains historical material, memorabilia, crew member recollections, press releases, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Dates: 1898-1985, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/1984

Emma Lou Vaughan Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 39-2
Scope and Contents The collection contains a hand-written oral story told to Emma Lou Vaughan by her grandfather of his work on the underground railroad in Kentucky.
Dates: undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/00/2008

Virginia Beach Resorts Research Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RC 02
Content Description This research collection contains photocopies of newspaper articles related to Seaview and other African American beach resorts, Seashore State Park, and Dudley Cooper, who operated both Ocean View Amusement Park and Seaview Beach and Amusement Park. Any copies made from the collection are for research purposes only.
Dates: 1916-2017

Virginia House of Delegates Videotape Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 56
Abstract A collection containing 78 ¾ inch videotapes dating from January 13 to March 13, 1982, of the House of Delegates in session.
Dates: 1982; Other: Date acquired: 03/08/1984

Virginia Opera Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 85
Abstract Consists of Virginia Opera programs, guides, newspaper clippings, magazine articles. Also includes administrative records, correspondence, audio-visual materials, artifacts, and posters.
Dates: 1970-2020, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/09/2006

Virginia Stage Company Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 123
Abstract Originally founded as the Norfolk Theater Center in 1968 and later renamed in 1978, the Virginia Stage Company is Hampton Roads only professional theater company. The VSC produces six plays per year running from September through April.  In addition to theater productions, the organization provides educational and community engagement programs including student matinees, in-school tours, workshops, and a summer theater camp.
Dates: circa 1968-2014, undated; Other: Date acquired: 02/05/2016

Virginia Symphony Foundation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 81-B
Abstract The Virginia Symphony Foundation, provides financial support to the Virginia Symphony by administering funds and property for the benefit of the Virginia Symphony. Consists of bylaws, meeting minutes, and financial information.
Dates: 1987-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/02/2004

Virginia Symphony League Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 81-C
Abstract Since 1927, the Virginia Symphony League supports and promotes the Virginia Symphony through fundraising and is considered a standing committee of the Virginia Symphony. Consists of administrative, board, and committee materials as well as information on publicity and fundraisers.
Dates: 1979-2016, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/02/2004

Virginia Symphony Orchestra Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 81-A
Abstract Consists of the Virginia Symphony Orchestra organizational archives, the Virginia Symphony Board archives, artifacts concerning premieres and other notable performances, and season programs.
Dates: 1921-2020, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/02/2004

Virginia Symphony Society of Greater Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 81-D
Abstract The Virginia Symphony Society of Greater Williamsburg (VSSGW) was formed to encourage support for and enjoyment of the symphony in the Greater Williamsburg area. Consists of material related to the annual Beethoven Festival in Williamsburg and other events, administrative and committee material, and newsletters.
Dates: 1998-2009; Other: Date acquired: 04/02/2004

Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 132
Scope and Contents This collection contains organizational materials, correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, and slides pertaining to the history of the Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA). The VTEEA consists of educators in the engineering, technlogy, innovation, and design fields who seek to promote their profession and provide a state-wide forum for thier ideas. Included in the collection are membership directories, photographs and slides from workshops and meetings,...
Dates: circa 1924-1998, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/07/2018

Virginia Tidewater Dental Association Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 99
Abstract Small collection that consists of a minute book, membership list and correspondence of a dental association in Norfolk and Portsmouth. Also has a short history of the Norfolk Webster family of dentists.
Dates: 1880-1962, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/12/2008

Charles E. Vogan Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-6B2
Scope and Contents The collection contains material related to the Music Club at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion University collected by music professor Dr. Charles E. Vogan. Included in the collection are music programs, invitations, sponsors, meeting minutes, budgets, correspondence and new clippings concerning the arts.
Dates: 1948-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/03/1976

Stanley Clay Walker Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 28
Abstract Served in the Virginia House of Delegates from 1964 to 1971, and had been a State Senator since 1972. Papers chiefly relate to his service in the General Assembly, notably his service as Chairman of the State Crime Commission.
Dates: 1950-2000; Other: Date acquired: 04/06/1978

Rogers Dey Whichard Collection of Printer's Blocks

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-4B2
Scope and Contents The collection contains approximately 100 printer's blocks of images that were used in the book "The History of Lower Tidewater Virginia" written by Rogers Dey Whichard, a foreign languages instructor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The book was published by Lewis Historical Publishing Company, Inc. in 1959. Each printer's block is wrapped in newspaper with a photograph of the corresponding image from the book taped to the outside.
Dates: 1959; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1959

Edith R. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 109
Abstract This collection contains of a variety of documents relating to women’s activism and educational activity in the city of Norfolk, Virginia.
Dates: circa 1923-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/10/2010

Forrest P. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 5
Abstract Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.
Dates: circa 1950-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/1976

Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 96
Abstract Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.
Dates: 1974-1991, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2007