Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 21 - 40 of 257

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 125
University Archives 119
Diehn Composers Room Collection 13
 
Topic
Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 30
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
Old Dominion University--History 28
Virginia--Politics and government 24
∨ more
School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
Old Dominion University--Reports 14
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
Music--United States--20th century 12
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
letters (correspondence) 11
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
World War, 1939-1945 8
College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Old Dominion University--Student life 7
United States. Navy--Officers 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
Old Dominion University--History--20th century 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
minutes (administrative records) 6
photographs 6
Artists--United States 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Orchestral music--Virginia 5
United States--Politics and government--20th century 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Old Dominion College--Student life 4
Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
Old Dominion University--Student organizations 4
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Creative writing 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Distance education 3
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 3
Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
Old Dominion University--Commencement 3
Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
Old Dominion University--Sports 3
Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
Vocal Music--20th century 3
Women's rights 3
programs (documents) 3
scrapbooks 3
African Americans--History 2
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Athletics 2
Authors--United States 2
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Composers 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Equality 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Festivals in literature 2
Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Curricula 2
Old Dominion University--Directories 2
Old Dominion University--Handbooks 2
Old Dominion University--Multimedia 2
Old Dominion University--Planning 2
Old Dominion University--Staff 2
Photographers--United States 2
∧ less
 
Language
German 3
Italian 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
French 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Old Dominion University 56
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Old Dominion College 11
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
∨ more
Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
Virginia Symphony 6
Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 4
United States. Navy 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
United States. Congress. House 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Frank, Willard C., Jr. 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Administration and Finance 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
Phillips, George Conoly 2
Robertson, Pat 2
Sweeney, James R. 2
Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Virginia Commonwealth University 2
Whitehurst, G. William 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Abbott, Carl 1
Adams, Clifford L. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Professors 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
American String Teachers Association 1
Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Ansel, Walter C. 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
Baptist Student Union 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) 1
Barron, James S. 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Bell, Walter Herman 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Blank, Allan 1
Blossom, Thomas 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler 1
Brazil. Ministério da Agricultura, Comércio e Obras Públicas 1
Breneiser, S. Eliot 1
∧ less
 

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59
Abstract Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.
Dates: circa 1958-1961; Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

S. Eliot Breneiser Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-6B1
Abstract Professor of Music at Old Dominion University. Collection relates to his position on the Faculty Senate, Faculty Caucus and University Senate where he served as the Chairman.
Dates: 1965-1975; Other: Date acquired: 08/16/1978

Buck Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 12
Scope and Contents Three letters constitute this collection. The letters are from Solomon Bachus of Granville County, New York, to his brother Herman Hyde of Essex, Vermont, (July 12, 1807); from Arabret Luckland of Bloomingdale to her cousin Louisa Buck of Westford, Vermont (May 24, 1846) and from Rosannah Chen(owitt) of Monroe, Wisconsin, to Miss Louisa Buck of Westford, Vermont (July 28, 1850).
Dates: 1807-1850; Other: Date acquired: 11/05/1976

Bureau of Business and Economic Research Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-26A
Scope and Contents The collection contains publications, project files, and other information related to the Bureau of Business and Economic Research at Old Dominion University. Some of the topics in the records include Virginia Beach tourism information, project files on area ports and drug abuse, and Tidewater business growth and demographic statistics.
Dates: circa 1963-2000; Other: Date acquired: 01/17/1980

Charles Burgess Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-1B1
Scope and Contents This collection includes programs, correspondence, audiovisual and other material related to Charles Burgess' involvement with the theater scene in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the correspondence involves the Little Theatre and Norfolk Theatre. The collection also contains photographs and audiovisual material of various productions by the Masquers Group, a student theater organization at Old Dominion University. Theater programs related to productions on Broadway in the 1920s are also present...
Dates: circa 1925-2000, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1980; Other: Date acquired: 05/17/2011

Elizabeth Ann Burton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3B4
Scope and Contents This collection includes letters as well as typed and handwritten drafts of poetry written by Elizabeth Ann Burton, a faculty member at Old Dominion University. Included are the original manuscripts for Burton’s published book of poetry, Waiting for the Messiah, as well as the draft of a second book, which was never published.
Dates: 1984-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2000

Hugh Lee Butler Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 58
Abstract Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.
Dates: 1896-1953, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/09/1985

Paul G. Caplan Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 78
Abstract Norfolk pharmacist. Chaired the board of the Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority, which runs Norfolk International Terminals and the Norfolk International Airport, for thirteen years and was a board member from 1962 to 1987. Served on several political campaign committees, including those of Roy B. Martin and Stanley Walker. Was very active in civic affairs, including the Norfolk Junior Chamber of Commerce, Virginia Jaycees, United States Jaycees, Tidewater Chapter of the American Red Cross,...
Dates: circa 1890-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/10/2003

Edward G. Carson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 87
Abstract Norfolk landscape architect and artist. Designed landscapes for buildings ranging from Webb Center to the bowling alley at a US Air Force base in Italy. The collection includes approximately three hundred oversized landscape plans, as well as a small number of photographs and written descriptions of landscape designs.
Dates: 1924-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1970-2000; Other: Date acquired: 10/12/2007

John Paul Carter Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 63
Abstract Episcopal priest, active in Virginia Democratic Politics. Served on the Committee for Fair Redistricting, Airlie Foundation, and the Virginia Political Study Group. Was active in Henry Howell’s political campaigns. The collection includes papers on political issues in Virginia during the 1960’s and 1970’s.
Dates: 1965-1997, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1999

Old Dominion University Catalogs

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-11A1
Abstract Old Dominion University's Office of Academic Affairs publishes an Undergraduate Catalog and a Graduate Catalog. These catalogs are updated and published annually.
Dates: 1930-2018

Clan MacLeod Society USA Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 41
Abstract A Scottish genealogical and historical society. Includes minutes, proceedings and business papers for the organization.
Dates: 1899-2020, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/08/1979

Coalition of Black Faculty and Administrators (CBFA) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-3A
Scope and Contents This collection includes material related to the Coalition of Black Faculty and Administrators (CBFA), a faculty organization at Old Dominion University. The objective of the organization is to promote the recruitment and retention, promotion and tenure, and greater involvement of African American faculty and administrators in college life. The coalition also works to provide networking opportunities and a forum for African American issues. Included in the collection are minutes and agendas,...
Dates: circa 1986-2012, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/21/2011

Commencement Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-6E
Scope and Contents This collection contains documents related to commencement at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. Contains commencement addresses, audio tapes of commencement ceremonies, and commencement ceremony programs. Digitized versions of commencement programs in PDF format are included for years spanning. The audiotapes of commencement ceremonies are in reel to reel format.
Dates: 1945-2019

Contemporary Composers Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR PC 1
Scope and Contents This collection is made up of unpublished new music scores and recordings. The collection promotes new music through performance and actively pursues donations. Portions of the Contemporary Composers Collection have been digitized and are available in the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.
Dates: 1981-2002; Other: Majority of material found in 1981-2002, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/00/2011

Cook Family Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 46
Abstract Bulk of collection consists of the papers of Allen M. Cook and documents the development of subdivisions in Norfolk and Virginia Beach, and the career of a naval officer from 1899 to 1919. Includes business papers, financial documents, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings. Of note are the minutes and proceedings of the Princess Anne and Norfolk Mutual Building and Loan Association.
Dates: 1872-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/12/1980

Eligoh B. Cooper Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 126
Abstract Contains the Civil War discharge orders for Eligoh B. Cooper, one photograph of Cooper, and various Confederate currency.
Dates: 1864-1865; Other: Date acquired: 08/05/2016

Minette Cooper Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 110
Abstract The collection contains programs of the Virginia Squires basketball team, from 1970 to 1976, and Young Audiences correspondence.
Dates: 1970-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/22/2012

Reuben Cooper Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-10B1
Scope and Contents This collection contains the personal papers of Reuben Cooper, who served in the Speech Department at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion University. Included in the collection are annual reports of the department, material related to the Debate Club, and material related to the formation of the Speech and Hearing Center at the division in 1959. An oral history interview with Reuben Cooper is available on the ...
Dates: 1959-1965, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/1975

Cheryl Copper Collection of Bridge and Tunnel Films

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 141
Scope and Contents This collection consists of 12 film reels and one VHS tape related to the construction of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, the Fort McHenry Tunnel in Baltimore, Maryland, the Coleman Bridge, and the Transbay Tube in San Fransicso, California. Most of the film reels are 16mm.
Dates: circa 1964-1985; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/2017