Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 101 - 120 of 258

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Community Collections 125
University Archives 120
Diehn Composers Room Collection 13
 
Topic
Old Dominion University--Faculty 33
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 30
Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 29
Old Dominion University--History 28
Virginia--Politics and government 24
∨ more
School integration--Massive resistance movement 17
Old Dominion University--Reports 14
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 12
Music--United States--20th century 12
Hampton Roads (Va.)--History--20th century 11
letters (correspondence) 11
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 10
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 9
School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans 9
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region) 8
Race relations--History--20th century 8
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 8
World War, 1939-1945 8
College publications--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Families--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 7
Old Dominion University--Student life 7
United States. Navy--Officers 7
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 6
Old Dominion University--Administrators 6
Old Dominion University--History--20th century 6
United States--Politics and government--20th century 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
minutes (administrative records) 6
photographs 6
Artists--United States 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Faculty 5
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division--Student life 5
Families--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Legislators--Virginia--Hampton Roads 5
Orchestral music--Virginia 5
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 5
African Americans--Civil rights 4
Businessmen--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Mayors--Virginia--Norfolk 4
Old Dominion College--Student life 4
Old Dominion University--Fraternities 4
Old Dominion University--Student organizations 4
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 4
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
scrapbooks 4
African Americans--Segregation 3
Arts--Virginia 3
Confederate States of America. Army 3
Creative writing 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Distance education 3
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 3
Housing--Virginia--Norfolk 3
Old Dominion University--Alumni and alumnae 3
Old Dominion University--Buildings and grounds 3
Old Dominion University--Commencement 3
Old Dominion University--Sororities 3
Old Dominion University--Sports 3
Old Dominion University--Statistics 3
Orchestral musicians--Virginia 3
School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations 3
United States. Navy--History 3
Vocal Music--20th century 3
Women's rights 3
programs (documents) 3
African Americans--History 2
Arts--Virginia--Hampton Roads (Region) 2
Athletics 2
Authors--United States 2
Baritone (Musical instrument) 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 2
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Composers 2
Equal rights amendments--United States 2
Equality 2
Families--New England--History--19th century 2
Festivals in literature 2
Gadfly literary magazine (Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.) 2
Hampton Roads (Va. : Region)--History, Military 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Maps 2
Hampton Roads (Va.)--Photographs 2
Housing--United States 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Journalists--United States 2
Korean War, 1950-1953--Veterans 2
Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century 2
Old Dominion University--Curricula 2
Old Dominion University--Directories 2
Old Dominion University--Handbooks 2
Old Dominion University--Multimedia 2
Old Dominion University--Planning 2
Old Dominion University--Staff 2
Photographers--United States 2
∧ less
 
Language
German 3
Italian 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
French 1
Yiddish 1
 
People/Organizations
Old Dominion University 56
College of William and Mary. Norfolk Division 16
Virginia. General Assembly 13
Old Dominion College 11
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 10
∨ more
Old Dominion University. Department of English 8
Old Dominion University. Board of Visitors 6
Old Dominion University. Department of Women's Studies 6
Virginia Symphony 6
Old Dominion University. Department of History 5
Norfolk College of William and Mary 4
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 4
Old Dominion University. Department of Art 4
United States. Navy 4
Virginia Opera Association 4
Virginia. General Assembly. Senate 4
Eastern Virginia Medical School 3
Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) 3
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority 3
Old Dominion University. Department of Music 3
Old Dominion University. Human Resources 3
Old Dominion University. Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 3
United States. Congress. House 3
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Cox, Lawrence Morgan, Sr. 2
Frank, Willard C., Jr. 2
Lyric Opera of Virginia 2
MacArthur Memorial 2
MacArthur, Douglas 2
Mason, Vivian Carter 2
Maury High School (Norfolk, Va.) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences (Va.) 2
Old Dominion College. Board of Visitors 2
Old Dominion University. Darden School of Education 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice 2
Old Dominion University. Intercollegiate Athletics 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries 2
Old Dominion University. Libraries. F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Administration and Finance 2
Old Dominion University. Office of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Office of University Events 2
Old Dominion University. Office of the Vice President for University Advancement 2
Old Dominion University. School of Business Administration 2
Old Dominion University. School of Continuing Education 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Caucus 2
Old Dominion University. Women's Center 2
Phillips, George Conoly 2
Robertson, Pat 2
Sweeney, James R. 2
Town-N-Gown (Norfolk, Va.) 2
United States. Supreme Court 2
Virginia Commonwealth University 2
Whitehurst, G. William 2
Whittle family 2
Yaco, Sonia 2
39th Georgia Regiment 1
AIDS Fund, Inc. 1
Abbott, Carl 1
Adams, Clifford L. 1
Ainsworth family 1
Aison, Howard B. (Howard Bertram) 1
Alan B. Shepard Convention Center (Virginia Beach, Va.) 1
Allen family 1
Allen-Johnson family 1
Ambrose, Herbert 1
American Association of Retired Persons. Virginia 1
American Association of University Professors 1
American Association of University Women. Norfolk Branch 1
American Basketball Association 1
American Physical Therapy Association 1
American Red Cross 1
American String Teachers Association 1
Anderson, Allen (Allen L.) 1
Andrews, Mason Cooke 1
Ansel, Walter C. 1
Armstead family 1
Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition 1
Association for the Promotion of New Music 1
Association of Writers & Writing Programs 1
Babalas, Peter K. 1
Bachus family 1
Bader, Eleanor J. 1
Bank of Chambersburg (Franklin, Pa.) 1
Banks, Benjamin A. 1
Baptist Student Union 1
Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor) 1
Barron, James S. 1
Beatty, Elie 1
Bell, Walter Herman 1
Berent, Irwin M. 1
Beta Sigma Phi 1
Blank, Allan 1
Blossom, Thomas 1
Boswell, Archie L. 1
Bowen, Henry Chandler 1
Brazil. Ministério da Agricultura, Comércio e Obras Públicas 1
Breneiser, S. Eliot 1
∧ less
 

Intercollegiate Athletics Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 2-8A
Abstract The collection includes guides, programs, publicity, newsletters, tickets, bumper stickers for men and women’s basketball, football, lacrosse, sailing, golf and other sports. Administrative correspondence is also included.
Dates: 1930-2019, undated; Majority of material found within 1975-2000

Alexander Brooks "A.B." Jackson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B5
Abstract Alexander Brooks “A.B.” Jackson began teaching in the Art department in 1967 as the school's first black faculty member. The contents of this collection include photographs taken and collected by Jackson of miscellaneous subjects, as well as photographs of his artwork and excerpts from his poetry.
Dates: circa 1965-1981; Other: Date acquired: 01/28/2011

Alice Rice Jaffe Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B1
Abstract Includes assorted reports, newspaper articles and correspondence, etc. relating to Hampton Roads history and Old Dominion University's early history as Norfolk Division of William and Mary College. Contains material from Jaffe's family including her husband, journalist Louis I. Jaffe, her father, Colonel Henry Rice and ancestor, Captain Samuel Davis.
Dates: 1807-1950, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1919-1950; Other: Date acquired: 06/01/1977

Jamestown Exposition Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 68
Scope and Contents This collection consists of 22 photographs, 14 mounted for exhibit purposes, that depict the Jamestown Exposition of 1907, the tercentennial of the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. The tercentennial took place in Norfolk, Virginia on land that is now part of Naval Station Norfolk. The collection includes photographs of a painting of Sir Walter Raleigh, a statue of Pocahontas, and depict such scenes as the Arch of Government Pier, the Grand Basin, the Auditorium, Willoughby Boulevard...
Dates: 1907

Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 134
Scope and Contents The Jewish Genealogy Society of Tidewater records contain administrative materials, publications, articles, bibliographies, historical resources, and newsletters pertaining to Jewish genealogy research. The collection pertains to various resources used for genealogical research of Jewish families in the Tidewater region.
Dates: circa 1843-2003, undated; Other: Majority of material found in 1970-1999; Other: Date acquired: 06/22/2018

Augustus C. Johnson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 71
Abstract Writer for "The Northern Virginia Sun." A collection of columns written by Augustus C. Johnson from September 1970 through December 1971. The columns relate primarily to the politics of Virginia’s 10th congressional district. Personalities discussed in them include Joel T. Broyhill, Henry E. Howell, George Rawlings, Harry F. Byrd, Jr., William B. Spong, Linwood Holton and Mills Godwin.
Dates: 1970-2000, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/1999

Dorothy M. Jones Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-4A1
Abstract This collection deals primarily with Dorothy M. Jones' career as a professor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The papers document her studies conducted through classes for the benefit of local businessmen, business correspondence, papers, and published materials.
Dates: 1954-1983; Other: Date acquired: 10/28/1976

Kappa Sigma Kappa. Lambda Kappa Chapter Charter

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-9A1
Scope and Contents This collection contains the framed original charter of the Lambda Kappa Chapter of Kappa Sigma Kappa fraternity at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, now Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1949; Other: Date acquired: 10/16/2014

Susan Kent Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-13B1
Abstract Dr. Kent served as a professor of anthropology from 1986 until 2003. She was an expert on hunters and gatherers. Her most extensive field work was her study of the Bushmen and Bakgalagadi of Africa. Collection includes material from her time at ODU, her field notes, and other research material.
Dates: 1975-2003, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2003

Ronald Kledzik Photograph Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 39-3
Scope and Contents This collection contains photographs assembled by Ronald Kledzik, class of 1952 of the Norfolk Division of William & Mary, while working on the Pow Wow yearbook. Includes images of the men's basketball team, Delta Omega Phi, and other images of student life at the Norfolk Division.
Dates: 1950-1952; Other: Date acquired: 06/13/2019

League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 72
Abstract Includes handbooks, correspondence, newsletters, agendas, minutes, membership lists, and financial records of the League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads. Contains information on the action program, education fund, speakers bureau, voters service, and studies on various issues.
Dates: circa 1940-2014, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/10/2000

Marvin Lee Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 105
Scope and Contents The collection contains an assortment of documents related to Marvin Lee, a professor at Old Dominion University and Public Housing Manager in Norfolk, Virginia. The bulk of the mateial chronicles Lee's career with the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NRHA) but also contains personal material as well
Dates: circa 1935-2004, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1990; Other: Date acquired: 04/15/2009

Everett Parker Lesley, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B2
Abstract Collection consists of a large number of photo slides related to his expertise in Byzantine Art and Architecture, as well as printed material, documentation of travels abroad, correspondence and photographs.
Dates: 1907-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/23/1982

Dorothy Lippincott Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-4B
Abstract An Old Dominion University administrator, her collection includes the records of Town-N-Gown, a group dedicated to establishing cooperation between the university, the city, and the military.
Dates: 1974-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/03/1974

Literary Festival Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3A1
Abstract This collection contains material from the Poetry Jam and first Literary Festival in 1978 and chronicles the annual Literary Festival onwards to the present day. Materials consist of original and digitized brochures, flyers, and promotional documents; schedules; news clippings; photos; and original and digitized video, as available.
Dates: 1977-2019, undated

Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 139
Abstract This collection contains press kits, booking agreements, performer contracts, correspondence, photographs, accounting records and ephemera pertaining to music performances in Hampton Roads, Virginia booked by AGL Productions between 1962 and 1975.
Dates: 1962-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/2019

Conway Macon, Jr. Track Record Book

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 39-4
Scope and Contents This collection consists of one record book of track performances throughout Virginia and around the world, from 1931 to 1948, collected by Conway Macon, Jr., Norfolk Division of William and Mary class of 1938. The results include the reported performances as opposed to the officail records. The book also includes track records posted between 1876 to 1930 from around the world. Of particular note, the 1931-1948 results include members of the Norfolk Division of William and Mary's track team.
Dates: 1876-1948; Other: Majority of material found within 1931-1948; Other: Date acquired: 04/00/1985

Samuel J. Major Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 43
Abstract Documents the activities of the Left Wing, Army of the Potomac during the Civil War. Includes correspondence, orders, dispatches, and operation reports.
Dates: 1861-1865; Other: Date acquired: 01/03/1980

Peter Mark Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 114
Scope and Contents This collection contains the personal papers of Peter Mark, Founding General Director and Artistic Director of the Virginia Opera from 1974-2010. The collection includes the correspondence of Peter Mark as Artistic Director of the Virginia Opera, programs from Virginia Opera productions, administrative records of the Virginia Opera, and records pertaining to the International Opera Alliance (IOA) and the Lyric Opera of Virginia.
Dates: 1953-2014, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1980-2010; Other: Date acquired: 12/20/2012

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.
Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982