Skip to main content

Robert Crawford McClelland Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B3

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of material written by or about Dr. Robert C. McClelland. Materials include a publication on the William T. Hodges scandal at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary in 1941, Masontown Pennsylvania, poetry, newspaper clippings, and the NATO Symposium directed by Dr. McClelland from 1955 to 1956.

Dates

  • 1941-1962, undated

Creator

Extent

0.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dr. Robert Crawford McClelland was born in Uniontown, Pennsylvania in 1901.  In 1914 he graduated from the Masontown public schools and went off to German Township High School where he graduated in 1918.  Afterwards he worked at the local coal mines for some time until he departed for college at the West Virginia University.  He graduated there in 1930 with a Bachelor of Arts degree.  McClelland taught at College of William and Mary in Williamsburg from 1930 to 1937. While teaching there he also earned his Master’s degree. In 1937 he became a teaching fellow at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. He taught Latin, Greek and history. In the summers from 1945 to 1950, he returned to WVU as a teaching fellow and earned his Ph.D. in history.  In 1948, Dr. McClelland became the Director of the Evening College at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. He worked at the college until 1962. Dr. McClelland was known for his involvement in preserving the history of Masontown in Pennsylvania.  He had compiled several histories of the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary including the Annals of The College of William and Mary in Norfolk (Norfolk: The College, 1930-60).  He also wrote and published a number of papers and poems. Dr. McClelland died in Masontown, Pennsylvania in 1962.

Note written by Corey Fenelon

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into six series: Series I: General Publications; Series II: In the Case of Bryan Vs. Hodges; Series III: Masontown History; Series IV: Poetry; Series V: Other Writings; and Series VI: NATO Symposia.

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Separated Materials

The NATO Sympsium material was previously part of the NATO Sympsium Collection (RG 21-3A) and was added to this collection in October 2015.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid developed by Corey Fenelon in 2009.

Title
A Guide to the Robert Crawford McClelland Papers
Author
Corey Fenelon
Date
10/05/2015
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350