Skip to main content

Carolyn Rhodes Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-28B1

Scope and Contents

The collection contains material from Dr. Carolyn Rhodes' academic and professional career, mostly pertaining to her time at Old Dominion University as a professor in the English and Women's Studies departments. Included in the collection are records related to the Women's Caucus, Women's Studies, gender discrimination at ODU, publications, and other material. Oral Histories of Dr. Rhodes' time at Old Dominion University can be found in the ODU Libraries Digital Collection's Oral Histories in Perry Library collection.

Dates

  • 1924-2019, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 10/30/2003

Creator

Extent

2.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dr. Carolyn H. Rhodes was born Carolyn Hodgson on May 16, 1925 in Birmingham, Alabama. Her parents were Lester Rhodes Hodgson and Dolly Griffin Hodgson. Dr. Rhodes has Bachelor of Arts degrees in Psychology and English from the University of Alabama, a Master of Arts degree in Psychology from Columbia University and a Master of Arts degree in English from the University of Kentucky. She earned her Ph.D. in English in 1965 from the University of Kentucky. While in college, Dr. Rhodes administered psychometric tests for the Veterans Administration in Lexington, Kentucky and worked as an Editorial Assistant for Railway Age Magazine. She was a Haggin teaching fellow for nine semesters, from 1957-1963, and an instructor of English Language Orientation for Indonesian students from 1964-1965. Dr. Rhodes moved to Virginia and began as an Assistant Professor at Old Dominion University (then Old Dominion College) in 1965. She became an Associate Professor in 1969 and a Professor of English in 1978. During her tenure at Old Dominion University, Dr. Rhodes worked as the Principle Investigator for the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Pilot Grant in Women's Studies. The grant, which ran from May 1977 to August 1978, helped establish the Women's Studies program at ODU, the first of its kind in Virginia. Dr. Rhodes was also a co-founder of the Friends of Women's Studies organization, established in 1985 to provide monetary support to keep Women's Studies alive. From September 1982 to July 1983, Dr. Rhodes was a Fulbright Lecturer in American Literature at Babes-Bolyai University in Romania. She received a second Fulbright to lecturer in American Literature at Peking University in Bejing, from September 1986 to August 1987 Dr. Rhodes passed away in March of 2019 and had two children, Richard (b. 1949) and Babette (b. 1951). Chronology Date of Birth: May 16, 1925 Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, University of Alabama: 1945 Bachelor of Arts in English, University of Alabama: 1945 Master of Arts in Psychology, Columbia University: 1947 Master of Arts in English, University of Kentucky: 1959 Doctorate in English, University of Kentucky: 1965 Assistant Professor, Old Dominion University: 1965 Associate Professor, Old Dominion University: 1969 Principle Investigator, NEH Pilot Grant, Women's Studies: 1977-1978 Professor of English, Old Dominion University: 1978 Fulbright Lecturer, Romania: 1982-1983 Co-founder, Friends of Women's Studies: 1985 Fulbright Lecturer, Bejing: 1986-1987 Date of Death: March 24, 2019

Note written by Kelly C. Barbour

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Dr. Rhodes was an English and Women's Studies professor at Old Dominion University. The collection includes course descriptions, grant reports, meeting minutes from various women's groups, information pertaining to the Title IX hearings, books, journal articles, newspaper clippings, newsletters and photographs.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into eleven series: Series I: Dr. Carolyn Rhodes; Series II: Women's Caucus; Series III: Women's Studies; Series IV: Other Courses; Series V: Speeches; Series VI: Publications; Series VII: Correspondence; Series VIII: Title IX; Series IX:: Multimedia; Series XI: Awards; and Series Xi: Miscellaneous Women's Events.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. Carolyn H. Rhodes

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Accruals and Additions

An addition to the collection was received on 10/22/2004.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Kelly C. Barbour in April 2006.
Title
A Guide to the Carolyn Rhodes Papers
Author
Kelly C. Barbour, April 2006; revised by Mel Frizzell, March 2008; revised by Kathleen Smith, May 2014
Date
01/28/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350