Skip to main content

Greek Fraternities and Sororities Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-3A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains pamphlets produced by the fraternities and sororities of Old Dominion University, as well as “The Greek," a publication of Old Dominion College for fraternities and sororities.

Dates

  • 1965-1985

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restriction.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Fraternities and sororities began at Old Dominion College in 1964, quickly becoming a tradition of the school. In 1968, after a Sigma Nu delegate visited the University of Maryland, the Inter-Fraternity Council and the PanHellenic Council of ODC created a publication, “The Greek,” to service the school with information about Greek affairs.

Note written by Joe Smith

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Old Dominion University Greek Fraternities and Sororities Records consist of pamphlets produced by the fraternities and sororities of ODC, as well as “The Greek” publication.

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Related Materials

Phi Kappa Tau Fraternity Records (RG 37-3A); Delta Sigma Lambda Sorority Records (RG 37-4A); Student Organizations Collection (RG 37-8A).
Title
A Guide to the Greek Fraternities and Sororities Records
Author
Joe Smith
Date
06/06/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350