Skip to main content

Delta Sigma Lambda Sorority Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-4A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains eight scrapbooks of events kept by Delta Sigma Lambda Sorority, a sorority for women over twenty five years old who have returned to higher education.

Dates

  • 1960-1996, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 02/01/1999

Creator

Extent

12.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

A sorority at Old Dominion University for women over twenty five years, who have returned to college for an education. Dubbed the "Twenty-Five Plus" club, the sorority was established on February 14, 1956, choosing Dr. Ruth Harrell as its faculty sponsor. Other sponsors have included Ms. Mary Lou Langhorne and Dr. Carolyn Rhodes. Members believe that the sorority "has helped them successfully make the transition from housewife to student." Although most members are married and have children, the sorority finds time to participate in a number of activities, including raising money for needy students, conducting campus tours, and arranging receptions for luminaries visiting the university. In 1964, the sorority began an ongoing scholarship fund in memory of Glenny Burns, who had died at age 69 in an accident. For the past nineteen years, Burns had been attending night classes toward her degree, and at the time of her death was only three credits shy. The scholarship was first awarded in 1967 and has been awarded annually ever since. Delta Lambda Sigma has always prided itself in its scholastic achievement. The sorority won the Greek scholastic competition so many years, it was given a permanent trophy for its achievement. In 1962, an alumni chapter of the sorority was established.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The Delta Sigma Lambda records consist of eight scrapbooks detailing events within the sorority.

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged in chronological order.

Custodial History

The Intra-Fraternal Council Sorority Scholastic Trophy was returned and now resides with the group's advisor in the Women's Center.

Source of Acquisition

Edith Carmichael, Sorority Historian

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Accruals and Additions

Intra-Fraternal Council Sorority Scholastic Trophy was donated by Delta Sigma Lambda on March 15, 1999.

Related Materials

Student Organizations Collection (RG 37-8A).
Title
A Guide to the Delta Sigma Lambda Sorority Records
Date
06/06/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350