Skip to main content

Kappa Sigma Kappa. Lambda Kappa Chapter Charter

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 37-9A1

Scope and Contents

This collection contains the framed original charter of the Lambda Kappa Chapter of Kappa Sigma Kappa fraternity at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, now Old Dominion University.

Dates

  • 1949
  • Other: Date acquired: 10/16/2014

Creator

Extent

2.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Kappa Lambda Chapter of Kappa Sigma Kappa was the first fraternity established at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary (now Old Dominion University) in 1949. The Virginia Military Institute established Kappa Sigma Kappa in 1867. The University of Virginia reactivated the fraternity after a period of dormancy in 1935. A series of informal talks between Kappa Sigma Kappa and Theta Xi concluded that a merger would prove beneficial to both organizations.  Accordingly, the merger of twenty-one chapters of Kappa Sigma Kappa located at accredited schools across the country became Theta Xi on August 20, 1962.  The Norfolk Division was one of these chapters and was designated the Kappa Lambda Chapter of Theta Xi Fraternity.  The Kappa Lambda Chapter received proof of the Chapter’s formal reception into the Bonds of Theta Xi in 1962. The Charter moved from fraternity house to fraternity house, and when the Chapter closed in 1973, the Charter commenced on a journey from brother to brother.  Brother William “Billy” E. Outten, KL 214 framed the Charter for safekeeping in 2011.

Note written by Allen Ayers

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Allen Ayers

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Related Materials

Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection (RG 32)

Processing Information

The finding aid was created by Mona Farrow, Reading Room Supervisor.

Title
A Guide to the Kappa Sigma Kappa. Lambda Kappa Chapter Charter
Author
Mona Farrow
Date
11/20/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350