Niles' Weekly Register Concerning Nat Turner Slave Rebellion
Scope and Contents
The collection contains two issues of Niles' Weekly Register, published in Baltimore, Maryland, concerning Nat Turner's slave rebellion in Southampton, Virginia in 1831. Both issues, dated August 27 and September 3, 1831, give first-hand accounts of the rebellion from letters to the editor of the publication. The story begins on page 455 of the August 27 issue and on page 4 of the September 3 issue.
Dates
- 1831
- Other: Date acquired: 01/31/2020
Creator
- Niles' Weekly Register (Organization)
Extent
0.10 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
Open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Language of Materials
English
Physical Access Requirements
The fragile nature of the material may limit handling.
Source of Acquisition
Purchase: Antique Collector's Club
Method of Acquisition
Acc. 2020.003 was purchased by Special Collections and University Archives in 2017.
Processing Information
The collection was accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archivist, in January 2020.
Creator
- Niles' Weekly Register (Organization)
- Title
- A Guide to the Niles' Weekly Register Concerning Nat Turner Slave Rebellion
- Author
- Steven Bookman, University Archivist
- Date
- 01/31/2020
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the ODU Community Collections Repository
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350
libspecialcollections@odu.edu