Skip to main content

Charles H. Ford Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 103

Scope and Contents

This collection is comprised of material both created and collected by Dr. Charles Ford.  It provides documentation of Dr. Ford’s roles as a researcher and promoter of the history of the African American community within Hampton Roads.  At the same time, it documents his involvement with gay cultural and activist groups, primarily the Tidewater AIDS Community Task Force (TACT). The bulk of the collection is related to TACT. These materials include correspondence, brochures, convention booklets, financial records, minutes, reports, promotional materials, a corporation agreement, invitations, cards, DVDs featuring lectures given by Dr. Ford, documents created by organizations, and articles from newspapers and magazines.

Dates

  • circa 1950-2016
  • Other: Date acquired: 08/15/2008

Creator

Extent

0.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Charles H. Ford was born in Bellevue, Pennsylvania, a suburb of Pittsburgh, on January 5, 1964. After graduating from the University of Pittsburgh in 1985, he earned his Masters and Ph.D. at Vanderbilt University.  In 1992 he was hired at Norfolk State University (NSU) in Norfolk, Virginia as an assistant professor of history and in 2003 became the Chair of NSU’s History Department. During the 1990s, Ford’s research focused on eighteenth century Britain and the Atlantic World and his first monograph, Hannah More:  A Critical Biography, was published in 1996. Later, Ford’s research interests expanded to include the history of slavery, school desegregation and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered issues. Ford’s involvement in the community echoed his research interests and Ford was an active participant at community events, particularly those related to the 50th anniversary of the end of Massive Resistance. His interests in the gay community’s issues were combined with Ford’s community service, including his work with the Tidewater AIDS Community Taskforce (TACT).  Since 1994, he served as a member of the Board of Directors of TACT in multiple capacities.  As of 2010, he was still involved in this organization and, having received tenure in 2007, was named an interim associate dean at NSU.

Note written by Mel Frizzell

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Dr. Charles Ford is a history professor at Norfolk State University. His collection includes material on Ford's research on African American history and gay cultural and activist groups, primarily the Tidewater AIDS Community Task Force. These materials include correspondence, brochures, convention booklets, financial records, minutes, reports, promotional materials, a corporation agreement, invitations, cards, DVDs featuring lectures given by Dr. Ford, documents created by organizations, and articles from newspapers and magazines.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into three series: Series I: Professional and Civic Involvement; Series II: Research and Publications; and Series III: Tidewater AIDS Community Task Force and Gay Activism.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. Charles Ford

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #2008-19

Accruals and Additions

Additional accessions made in 2009 and 2010. Future accruals made on an ongoing basis

Related Materials

Material related to LGBTQIA+ students at Old Dominion University can be found in the Old Dominion University Gay and Lesbian Student Union (GLSU) Records (RG 37-5A).

Processing Information

The finding aids was created by Mel Frizzell, Special Collections Assistant, in 2008.

Title
A Guide to the Charles H. Ford Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
02/23/2010
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350