Skip to main content

Paula J. Miller Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 117

Scope and Contents

The Collection of Paula J. Miller consists of documents relating to Miller’s time in office of the Virginia House of Delegates from election in 2005 through 2012. Materials inclulde correspondence, promotional materials, and bills from the Virginia General Assembly.

Dates

  • 2004-2012, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 11/03/2013

Creator

Extent

1.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Paula J. Miller was born August 1st, 1959 in Batavia, New York. In 1984, after earning degrees in communications from both Genesee Community College and SUNY Geneseo, Miller and her husband George Schaefer moved to Norfolk, Virginia. While living in Norfolk, she worked as a reporter for WTKR-TV Channel 3 News. Miller left WTKR in 1999 to become head of the public information office at the Virginia Beach Sheriff’s Office. Miller’s husband became greatly involved in the Norfolk politics and was elected Norfolk Clerk of Circuit Court in 2003. Miller herself ran for office as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates from the 87th district in 2005 defeating republican Michael Ball and independent candidate John Coggeshall. In the 2007 election she defeated Henry C. “Hank” Giffin III and she defeated John Amiral in the 2009 election. In 2011, the 87th district was moved to Northern Virginia and Miller’s district was redistricted to the 100th district which was headed by Delegate Lynwood Lewis. Miller left office in 2012 and currently is the head of the public information office at the Norfolk Sheriff’s Office.

Note written by James Detterman; Kathleen Smith

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The Collection of Paula J. Miller consists of documents relating to Miller’s time in office of the Virginia House of Delegates from election in 2005 through 2012.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into three series: Series I: Miscellaneous and Promotional Material; Series II: Letters; and Series III: Virginia General Assembly.

Source of Acquisition

Paula J. Miller

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2014-10

Processing Information

The collection was processed and the finding aid was created by James Detterman in February 2014.

Title
A Guide to the Paula J. Miller Papers
Author
James Detterman, February 2014; Kathleen Smith August 2014
Date
05/16/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350