Norfolk United Community Fund Records
Scope and Contents
The collection contains the records of the Norfolk United Community Fund, an organization set up to finance social service agencies in Norfolk, Virginia. Included in the records are business records, such as minutes and bylaws, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and fundraising campaigns. Of particular interest are records of the United War Fund, the name of the organization during World War II.
Dates
- 1923-1970, undated
- Other: Date acquired: 04/23/1979
Creator
- Norfolk United Community Fund (Organization)
Extent
9.20 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
Open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Biographical or Historical Information
The United Community Fund (UCF) was founded in 1923. The UCF was started to serve as a fundraising organization for the social service agencies of Norfolk. Over the years the United Community Fund has come to be known by different names. The group started as the United Community Fund. During World War II, the group became known as the United War Fund. After the war, the group changed its name to the Norfolk United Fund, and then later the Norfolk Community Chest.
Note written by Special Collections Staff
Language of Materials
English
Abstract
The records of the Norfolk United Community Fund include minutes, reports from the Board of Trustees and various committees, collection and distribution statements, memorandums, outgoing correspondence, and scrapbooks.
Arrangement Note
This collection is arranged into three series: Series I: Business; Series II: Scrapbooks; and Series III: Miscellaneous.
Source of Acquisition
Eugene Berres, Executive V.P. United Community Fund
Method of Acquisition
Loan. Accession #A79-18
Accruals and Additions
An addition to the collection was added on 5/16/1980.
Creator
- Norfolk United Community Fund (Organization)
- Title
- A Guide to the Norfolk United Community Fund Records
- Author
- Special Collections Staff
- Date
- 01/24/2013
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the ODU Community Collections Repository
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350
libspecialcollections@odu.edu