Skip to main content

Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 75

Scope and Contents

The Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers includes correspondence, newsletters, press releases, meeting reports, and other papers relating to the Norfolk Historical Society, Virginia History Federation and the Friends of the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House. Also included in the collection are biographical and genealogical material about General Douglas MacArthur, as well as various papers documenting the history of Norfolk.

Dates

  • circa 1900-1997, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 06/30/2000

Creator

Extent

4.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Calvert Walke Tazewell was born in 1917 in Norfolk, Virginia. He was educated in public and private schools in Norfolk. He enlisted in the Army Air Corps in 1937 and received a commission while overseas in World War Two. During the war he received the Bronze Star Medal for his service in the China Campaign. He reached the rank of Lt. Colonel, serving in communications and electronics and as commanding officer. He retired from active duty in 1959. After the military, he worked as Civil Defense Coordinator for Dade County Florida, taught Civil Defense courses, worked for the Florida State Board of Health, and the Health-Welfare-Recreation Planning Council after returning to Norfolk. Tazewell founded the Norfolk Historical Society, a group dedicated to preserving all aspects of local history, in 1965. He served as its president for two terms, then as Executive Vice President. He was also a co-founder of the Virginia History Federation, an organization that sought to link all history related groups in Virginia. He served as the Federation's first president in 1969. Tazewell was the founder and director of the Hampton Roads Central Library, an internet digital library and archive from 1993-1997. He also operated the W. S. Dawson publishing company until 1997.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Retired USAF lieutenant colonel, author, publisher, local historian. The collection includes papers from Tazewell’s years as president of the Norfolk Historical Society and Virginia History Federation. Also included is information on the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House and papers of Philip Brower, former archivist of the MacArthur Memorial in Norfolk. Brower’s papers include research on General Douglas MacArthur, personal papers and papers regarding the MacArthur Memorial Archives.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into six series: Series I: Norfolk Historical Society; Series II: Virginia History Federation; Series III: Norfolk History; Series IV: Boush-Tazewell-Waller House; Series V: Papers of Phillip Brower; and Series VI: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

C.W. Tazewell

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2000-5
Title
A Guide to the Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
01/24/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350