Skip to main content

Allan G. Donn Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 106

Scope and Contents

The collection contains court documents and a research paper collected by attorney Allan G. Donn related to school desegregation in Prince Edward County, Norfolk and Richmond, Virginia and North Carolina. The court documents relate to Cocheyse J. Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward County and Swan v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

Dates

  • 1961-1970
  • Other: Date acquired: 06/01/2009

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Allan Gerald Donn was born in 1939 in Norfolk to Milton Donn and Freda Fleder. He graduated from the University of Virginia with a Bachelor of Arts. In 1964, he received a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) from Harvard University Law School and became engaged to Susan L. Berman who he later married. A year later Donn was admitted to the Virginia State Bar. In 1967, he received a Master of Laws (LLM) in Taxation from Georgetown Law Center. As of 2010, Donn is a member of Willcox and Savage, specializing in partnerships, limited liability companies, taxation and estate planning. While a student at Harvard, Donn was present when the United States Supreme Court heard the school desegregation case, Cocheyse J. Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward County. In this pivotal case, the court ruled that closing public schools to avoid desegregation was unconstitutional and ordered that they be reopened. Later, as a member of Norfolk legal firm of Willcox, Savage, Lawrence, Dickson & Spindle, Donn represented the School Board of City of Norfolk in desegregation cases in the late 1960s and 1970s.

Note written by Sonia Yaco

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Contains court documents and a research paper related to school desegregation in Prince Edward County, Norfolk and Richmond, Virginia and North Carolina. The court documents relate to Cocheyse J. Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward County and Swan v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized chronologically.

Source of Acquisition

Allan G. Donn

Method of Acquisition

Accession #A2009-20 Gift as part of the Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) project.

Related Publications

The Defense of an Unconscionable Experimentation with Ignorance : The Legal Battle over Public Education in Prince Edward County, Virginia, 1959-1964 https://helda.helsinki.fi/handle/10138/45410

Processing Information

The finding aid was created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2010.

Title
A Guide to the Allan G. Donn Papers
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
06/04/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350