Women's Edition of the Recorder Newspaper
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of Volume 1, Issue 36 (August 31, 1895) of the Women's Edition of the Recorder, an African American newspaper in Norfolk, Virginia. Some of the topics discussed in the articles include the duties of society, what to eat, and the need for kindergarten in education.
Dates
- 1895 August 31
- Other: Date acquired: 09/26/2017
Extent
0.05 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Biographical / Historical
The Women’s Edition of the Recorder Newspaper was an African American newspaper founded in Norfolk, Virginia. The Old Dominion University collection features a volume of the paper from August 1895.
Language of Materials
English
Source of Acquisition
Purchase - Abe Books
Method of Acquisition
Purchase.
Processing Information
The collection was minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archivist, in August 2017.
- Title
- A Guide to the Women's Edition of the Recorder Newspaper
- Author
- Steven Bookman
- Date
- 09/07/2017
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the ODU Community Collections Repository
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350
libspecialcollections@odu.edu