Skip to main content

Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 132

Scope and Contents

This collection contains organizational materials, correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, and slides pertaining to the history of the Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA). The VTEEA consists of educators in the engineering, technlogy, innovation, and design fields who seek to promote their profession and provide a state-wide forum for thier ideas. Included in the collection are membership directories, photographs and slides from workshops and meetings, as well as newsletters. The bulk of the records pertain to the precursor organizations to the VTEEA and not of the VTEEA itself.

Dates

  • circa 1924-1998, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 01/07/2018

Creator

Extent

6.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restriction.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association can trace its beginnings in 1958 when they first formed as the Virginia Industrial Arts Association. The Virginia Industrial Arts Association (VIAA) consisted of industrial arts educators seeking to promote their profession and provide a state-wide forum for their ideas. In 1964 the association became affiliated with the American Industrial Arts Association (AIAA). The association also worked closely with the American Industrial Arts Students Association (AIASA). The Virginia Industrial Arts Education Council in which the VIAA worked with, had its beginnings as the Trade and Industrial Division under the State Board of Education, and then later as the Trade and Industrial Service, Vocational Division. A state-level office within the State Board of Education formed at the urging of VIAA in 1969, known as the Industrial Arts Service. Four years later in 1973, the Virginia Industrial Arts Education Council was created, to provide an exchange of ideas and concerns between educators, in order to better promote and teach the industrial arts, as well as prepare future industrial arts educators. By the mid-1980s, a shift towards technology related curriculum started taking place in industrial arts education, in that the Virginia Industrial Arts Association became the Virginia Technology Education Association (VTEA). Throughout the 1990s to the 2000s the shift towards STEM (science-technology-engineering-mathematics) based curriculum became more prevalent, in which the Virginia Technology Education Association became the Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA) in 2011. Currently VTEEA is a non-profit organization that is governed by a Board of Directors and represents over a thousand Virginia educators, promoting technology and engineering education throughout Virginia’s schools. The association still closely works with the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA-formerly AIAA and ITEA) and the Technology Student Association (TSA-formerly AIASA).

Note written by Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged into four series: Series I: Precursor Organizations to VTEEA; Series II: Organizations Related to VTEEA; Series III: Photographs and Slides; Series IV: Publications.

Source of Acquisition

Gift of Dr. Phillip A. Reed

Method of Acquisition

Acc. 2018.003 was received by Special Collections and University Archives from the donor on 1/7/2018.

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Cataloging and Metadata Specialist from March to April 2018.

Title
A Guide to the Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA) Records
Author
Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist
Date
04/18/2018
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350