Skip to main content

Herbert Ambrose Letters

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 133

Scope and Contents

The collection includes letters written by Sergeant Herbert Ambrose while he worked in the 506 United States Army Infantry Postal Unit during World War II. Most of the letters are written by Ambrose to his parents about his daily life from various locations throughout the war including Boston, Scotland, Southern England, France, and Germany.

Dates

  • 1942-1945
  • Other: Date acquired: 08/24/2018

Creator

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

The letters are arranged chronologically.

Source of Acquisition

Gift of Matthew Whitlock, Department of History

Method of Acquisition

Acc. 2018.018 was received by Special Collections and University Archives by the donor on 8/24/2018.

Related Materials

Walter C. Ansel Papers (MG 29); Howard Bertram Aison Papers (MG 61). Other collections related to armed conflicts can be found on the Special Collections and University Archives research guide at http://guides.lib.odu.edu/specialcollections.

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Kayne Bartholomew, Special Collections and University Archives Student Assistant, in August-September 2018.
Title
A Guide to the Herbert Ambrose Letters
Author
Steven Bookman, University Archivist
Date
09/25/2018
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350