Skip to main content

Archie L. Boswell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 59

Scope and Contents

Norfolk attorney Archie L. Boswell acted as attorney for the defendants in the cases of James vs. Duckworth and James vs. Almond, the two cases to reopen the Norfolk schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance. This collection consists of his papers relating to those two cases, and includes various legal materials, correspondence, notes, background research, and other items. Portions of the Archie L. Boswell Papers have been digitized and are available in the School Desegregation in Norfolk, Virginia collection of the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.

Dates

  • circa 1958-1961
  • Other: Date acquired: 08/07/1990

Creator

Extent

0.8 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Archie L. Boswell, an attorney from Norfolk, represented the plaintiffs in the two cases, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond, initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration as part of Virginia's Massive Resistance legislation.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Norfolk attorney. Represented the plaintiffs in the two cases initiated to reopen the Norfolk public schools closed to avoid integration, James v. Duckworth and James v. Almond. Includes correspondence, legal materials, notes, and background material.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into two series: Series I: James vs. Duckworth and Series II: James vs. Almond.

Source of Acquisition

Archie L. Broswell

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Related Materials

Portions of the Archie L. Boswell Papers have been digitized and are available in the School Desegregation in Norfolk, Virginia collection of the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.
Title
A Guide to the Archie L. Boswell Papers
Author
Special Collections and University Archives Staff
Date
02/06/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350